BAFTA: Nominees Announced For The 2020 EE Rising Star Award - Movies In Focus
The 2020 EE Rising Star Award nominees have been announced and Awkwafina, Jack Lowden, Kaitlyn Dever, Kelvin Harrison Jr. and Micheal Wardare all up for the chance to win the award which is decided by a public vote and awarded at the 2020 Baftas. Voting is now open (do it here) and everyone who votes will be in with a chance to win a VIP BAFTA experience. The winner will be announced at the EE British Academy Film Awards on Sunday 2 February 2020 at the Royal Albert Hall. This year’s EE Rising Star Award jury was chaired by Andrew Orr, managing director of film production company Independent, and included actors Vanessa Kirby, Cynthia Erivo and Gemma Whelan, film broadcaster Edith Bowman, film critic Anna Smith, producers Uzma Hasan, Marc Samuelson and Georgina Lowe, casting directors Nina Gold and Lucy Bevan, and other leading film industry experts. The nominees were announced by actor Tom Hiddleston, broadcaster Edith Bowman and BAFTA Chief Executive Amanda Berry on Monday 6 January 2020 . Here’s a rundown on the actors, and what they had to say about their nomination… Nora Lum, known professionally as AWKWAFINA, has established herself on the big screen with her lead role [...]