10 Things You Need To Know Before You See MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE - ROGUE NATION - Movies In Focus
Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation hits cinema and IMAX screens at the end of July. The fifth instalment in the franchise once again sees Tom Cruise conduct some gravity defying scenes as intrepid IMF agent Ethan Hunt. Before you check out the Christopher McQuarrie directed film – you’ll want to know these ten Mission: Impossible facts. 1. The films are based on a television show created by Bruce Geller. The show ran for 7 seasons (1966-1973) and 171 episodes. Over the years its cast included Peter Graves, Martin Landau, Leonard Nemoy, Barbara Bain, Lesley Ann Down and Sam Elliott. Lalo Schrifrin composed the now iconic theme tune – which is still used in the movies. An updated version of the show aired in 1988. It ran for 2 seasons (35 episodes) but it never matched the success of the original. 2. Each Mission: Impossible film has a different director. Brian De Palma, John Woo, J.J Abrams, Brad Bird and now Christopher McQuarrie have helmed the features. Joe Carnahan and David Fincher have come close to directing entries into the franchise. 3. Peter Graves turned down the chance to reprise the role of Jim Phelps in Brian DePalma’s film because he was [...]