Nobel Peace Prize Honors for Leymah Gbowee - Eye on Books
by The 2011 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to three women, including Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee, Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, and Tawakkul Karman of Yemen. All were honored for their “non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.” When civil war broke out …