Iowa State Renames Awards to Honor Two Legendary Athletes
AMES, Iowa -- Iowa State University is renaming its awards for the top male and female athletes of the year for two legendary Cyclones. The school announced Tuesday that the Male Athlete of the Year Award will carry the name of Gary Thompson. The “Roland Rocket” was a two-time All-American basketball player for ISU.