What Ever Happened to Iowa’s 100th County?
ALGONA, Iowa- You’ve heard a number of politicians do a “99 County Tour of Iowa.” But many may not realize, Iowa once had 100 counties. After Iowa had already formed as a state in 1846, Iowa formed 51 counties, which covered the entire state, in the year 1851. One of those counties was named Bancroft County, it was located north of Kossuth County, to the Minnesota State line.