University of Iowa Bans Four Fraternities for Hazing and Alcohol Violations
IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa is banning four fraternities for hazing and alcohol violations. The chapters include Delta Chi, Sigma Nu, Sigma Alpha Epsilon and Kappa Sigma. The university placed a moratorium on events with alcohol for fraternities after the death of a student last year. Greek leaders have been working on a plan to improve culture within fraternities and sororities. They are looking at risk management, peer accountability and recruitment. The recommendations will be released next semester.