Salmonella outbreak in 9 states, including Colorado, linked to alfalfa sprouts
An outbreak of salmonella probably caused by alfalfa sprouts has infected 30 people in nine states, including Colorado, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Friday. Five people have been hospitalized. No deaths have been reported. States where illnesses have occurred are Colorado, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Oregon, Texas and Wyoming. Symptoms of salmonella poisoning, which usually develop within 12 to 72 hours, include diarrhea, fever and abdominal cramps.