Dr. Maura Gillison elected to the National Academy of Sciences
The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed into existence by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation, conduct other activities to solve complex problems, and inform public policy decisions.