Study in UK | Manchester Consultancy
UNITED KINGDOM Country Overview The United Kingdom is a sovereign nation located off the northwestern coast of mainland Europe. The island country is encompassing four constituent nations England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. It has a long history as a major player in international affairs and fulfils an important role in the EU, UN and NATO. In recent years UK has taken steps to devolve powers to Scotland and Wales. The Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh and the National Assembly for Wales in Cardiff opened in 1999, and the possibility of devolution for the English regions has also been discussed. In Northern Ireland, after decades of violent conflict, the Good Friday agreement of 1998 led to a new assembly with devolved powers, bringing hopes of lasting peace. History United Kingdom started its formation by merging individual European states including Wales and Scotland with the Acts of Union in 1707. Later in the year 1800, an auxiliary Act of Union has included Kingdom of