WHO-HD Earns Prestgious National Award for Journalism Excellence
Channel 13 News wins coveted National Edward R. Murrow Award for Video Feature ReportingStation receives half (6 of 12) of all Edward R. Murrow Awards in its regionWHO-HD earns 39 journalism awards so far in 2012…the most of any station in Iowa For the third consecutive year, WHO-HD has earned a prestigious National Edward R. Murrow award for Journalism Excellence. The winning story was written and reported by anchor Erin Kiernan. The winning story, entitled “Sky Rise”, focuses on the insurmountable determination of a central Iowa man facing incredible physical handicaps to climb every stair inside the 110-story Willis Tower in Chicago. (Watch the story here.) The award was achieved in the “Television: Small Market” division across all 50 states. Channel 13 News also earned 6 out of the 12 regional Murrow awards from Region 5 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri & Nebraska) in the “Television: Small Market” division including accolades for Hard News, Continuing Coverage, Series, Sports Reporting and Use of Video. Check all the awards and watch the stories below.WHO-HD Channel 13 News2012 RTDNA Region 5 Small Market Television Awards(Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)Edward R. Murrow Award CategoryStoryReporterVideo Feature Reporting**National Murrow WinnerSky RiseErin KiernanVideo Continuing CoverageApollo: We Have A ProblemSonya HeitshusenVideo Reporting: Hard NewsSnuffed OutDave PriceVideo News SeriesDeceptive DietsErin KiernanVideo Sports ReportingWater Changes EverythingAndy FalesUse of VideoRandy Schumacher CompositePhotojournalist Randy Schumacher ”We have dedicated journalists with very high standards at Channel 13 News,” says WHO-HD News Director Rod Peterson. “I could not be prouder of their accomplishments and dedication to central Iowa viewers.” Earlier this year, WHO-HD earned with 12 journalism excellence awards from the IBNA (Iowa Broadcast News Association) including 7 First Place awards, the most of any station in Iowa. The IBNA honors included First Place awards for Overall Excellence AND Best Newscast. So far in 2012, WHO-HD has earned 39 awards of journalism excellence compared to just 24 for KCCI. In fact, Channel 13 News has been honored more than any other station in Iowa.2012 Awards for Journalism ExcellenceAwardWHOKCCIWOICedar Rapids/WaterlooMason City Quad CitiesSioux CityOmahaNBNA Eric Sevareid 1st Place53000001NBNA Eric Sevareid Awards of Merit156001000RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Regional62000000RTDNA Edward R. Murrow National12000000IBNA First Place7327307N/AIBNA 2nd Place3613208N/AIBNA 3rd Place2219204N/ATOTAL392441980191About Radio-Television Digital News Association (RTDNA)Edward R. Murrow Award recipients reflect the principles embodied by Edward R. Murrow, longtime CBS News correspondent. Widely recognized as the father of electronic journalism, Murrow was known for his courageous reporting and insatiable desire to find the truth – qualities embodied by the RTDNA awards, which have been presented annually since 1971. RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization exclusively serving the electronic news profession, consisting of more than 3,000 news directors, news associates, educators and students. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, the association is dedicated to setting standards for newsgathering and reporting. Although news techniques and technologies are constantly changing, RTDNA's commitment to encouraging excellence in the electronic journalism industry remains the same. RTDNA represents electronic journalists in radio, television and all digital media, as well as journalism educators and students. Our members are news directors, producers, reporters, anchors, general managers, professors, students, industry suppliers, operations managers and digital content managers. RTDNA members benefit from publications, training, advocacy and many opportunities to network with colleagues. Joining RTDNA says you're concerned about First Amendment issues, Freedom of Information issues, ethics in reporting, improving coverage, implementing technology and all news industry issues. Our members help shape the future of our profession and we protect their interests by advocating on their behalf and lobbying in their interest.About IBNAThe Iowa Broadcast News Association (IBNA) is a nonprofit corporation of radio-TV news directors, reporters, producers, public relations professionals and others from Iowa and its adjacent states, working together to improve electronic media news for our stations and the public.About WHO-HD Channel 13WHO-HD Channel 13, owned by Local TV LLC, is celebrating 57 years of broadcast service to central Iowa. Channel 13 News prides itself on bringing viewers rich, local content in exclusive high definition. From exclusive investigations to ground-breaking, creative coverage of the big daily story, more and more Iowans are choosing Channel 13 News.WHO-HD has earned the most prestigious awards in the broadcast industry. So far in 2012, that station has earned an incredible 20 Eric Sevareid Awards for journalism excellence. In 2011, Channel 13 News earned the most television journalism awards in the state including 9 Emmy awards, 5 regional and one national Edward R. Murrow award, 14 Eric Sevareid Awards including Best Newscast, Investigation and Sportscast. In 2010, WHO-HD earned Iowa’s only national Edward R. Murrow award, 12 Eric Sevareid Awards including “Investigation”, “Spot News” and “Best Sportscast” and 14 IBNA Awards of Excellence. In 2008, Channel 13 News earned a coveted Emmy award for “Investigative Series”.The technological leader, WHO-HD Channel 13 became the first commercial television station in Iowa to begin broadcasting all local programming in total high definition in 2010. In addition, WHO-HD was the first station in Iowa to: use videotape, broadcast live from news events, employ live Doppler radar, broadcast in high-definition, produce high-definition local news segments, and first high definition syndicated programming.WHO-HD Channel 13 is owned by Local TV LLC, a broadcast holding company created in 2007 to acquire nine heritage television stations in eight mid­sized markets. In 2008, the company acquired eight large-market Fox Affiliates previously owned by News Corporation. Local TV is owned by Oak Hill Capital Partners, management and a consortium of bankers and high yield lenders.