Restricting Heisman Ceremony Candidates Not Fair To Some
The 2015 Heisman Trophy will be awarded Saturday night in New York. While there are usually five candidates called to the ceremony, this year only three players were asked to make the trip. Running backs Derrick Henry of Alabama and Christian McCaffrey of Stanford will join quarterback Deshaun Watson of Clemson as contenders for the prestigious award. Thirteen of the last fifteen winners have been quarterbacks. Henry has carried the football 90 times in his last two games, victories over Auburn and Florida, to send the Crimson Tide to the CFP playoff for the second consecutive season. McCaffrey led the Cardinal to victories over Notre Dame and USC in his last two games, gaining 207 yards against the Trojans in the Pac-12 championship game. Watson has paced the No. 1 ranked Tigers all season as a duel threat. He has passed for 30 touchdowns and run for eleven scores.