young-adult

If you enjoyed Shadow and Bone, then check out these books with similar themes!

The Burning Sky
Fantasy | Magic | Romance | Chosen One
I absolutely loved The Burning Sky and all the books in this series! The Elemental Trilogy is one of my all time favorite series and I would definitely recommend it for fans of Shadow and Bone :)

The Girl of Fire and Thorns
Fantasy | Romance | Chosen One | Self-deprecating main character
I haven’t read this one, but from the reviews I’ve read, this book appears similar to Shadow and Bone in quite a few aspects. I think the main character Elisa also sounds quite a bit like Alina from Shadow and Bone.

The Crown’s Game
Fantasy | Magic | Romance | Russia
This book hasn’t been released yet and there aren’t many reviews out yet, but if you’re a fan of that Russia-like setting in Shadow and Bone, then this could be a great book for you! Plus, one of the character’s name is Nikolai… ;)

The Demon King
Fantasy | Romance | Magic | Epicness | Poor main character becomes more
If you’re looking for more magic and high fantasy, this is the series for you. The Seven Realms series is EPICNESSSSSSS :D Go read it o__o

Six of Crows
Fantasy | Romance | Magic | Grisha World
Now the plot for Six of Crows and the overall feeling is quite different from Shadow and Bone BUT this is set in the same Grisha World that Shadow and Bone is set in. Plus it’s written by the amazing Leigh Bardugo, so how can you go wrong with that?

Truthwitch
Fantasy | Romance | Magic | Adventure | Special Flower MC
Truthwitch was a good fantasy book that many fantasy lovers will enjoy with its magic and adventure. There’s also a romance with a prince and the main character has a special power that no one else has (like Alina).

Red Queen
Fantasy | Magic | Romance |  Special Flower MC |  Poor main character becomes more | Betrayal
The Red Queen has quite a few similarities to Shadow and Bone. The main character, Mare Barrow, has similar experiences to Alina. They both have hidden powers that they didn’t know about and that are very unique. They are both thrust from their lowly positions to ones of higher power where romance abounds. They also go through magic training and dueling :)

Air Awakens
Fantasy | Magic | Romance | Special Flower MC |  Poor main character becomes more
Air Awakens has elemental magic and the MC, Vhalla, is the first air bender in a long long time. She goes from an ordinary library apprentice to someone that both princes of the kingdom seek out. Overall, an enjoyable fantasy, filled with magic and romance :)

THE RULE OF MIRRORS Blog Tour Schedule

Rule of Mirrors by Caragh M. O’Brien

The fast-paced, psychologically thrilling sequel to The Vault of Dreamers follows Rosie after her consciousness has been split in two.

The entire country was watching when Rosie Sinclair was expelled from Forge, the prestigious arts school that doubles as a reality TV show. But few know how Dean Berg was mining students’ dreams in laboratories deep below the school. And no one, least of all the Dean himself, knows that when Rosie’s dreams were seeded into the mind of another patient, Rosie’s consciousness woke up in that body–a girl far from Forge, a girl with a completely different life from Rosie, a girl who is pregnant.

Told from alternating points of view between Rosie as she makes sense of her new identity and the shattered subconscious that still exists in her old body, The Rule of Mirrors will keep readers on the edge of their seats and leave them hungry for more.

Flash Snark: The 5th Wave — Part Two

Last time, we opened this book on fear-mongering, reactionary quotes, a shitload of arrogance on the book’s part, obnoxious backstory and we still have no idea what the book’s world is like. We did leave on one genuine moment of the character crying for the loss of her innocence, because she is now a killer. Well, time to elaborate on that.

Keep reading

5 Things you didn’t know about Kelly Zekas:

1. When I was 19 my favorite book boyfriend was killed off and I was so wrecked I called my college boyfriend sobbing at 3am.

2. I was in a music video for MGMT and you can see me for approximately .5 seconds.

3. I have been blessed by an elephant.

4. I had to take dance in college for my acting degree and was often asked to come off to the side after we learned a combination so I could be taught it again, but slower.

5. Tarun and I will argue till the end of days over who received a higher grade in our freshman year writing class.

Learn more about These Vicious Masks, a Jane Austen meets X-Men mash up! 

There is this lady on the train - I see her most mornings, who is almost always with a book in her hand. She’s around…40 years old, maybe? The really cool thing is that she reads YA (this morning, she was reading a book in the Septimus Heap series, I saw her reading Holes a while ago).  And she is so chill about it, just enjoying her book, reading literally until the train has stopped in the station. And I think that’s fantastic, because we’re so hell bent on labeling everything in our lives, including things related to reading (you’re an adult, so you should read only adult books, you should be reading more classics, you should not read things that are simpler), that we’re forgetting that we’re supposed to do whatever makes us happy. And if reading YA/children’s literature/middle grade makes us happy, we should just do it.

And when you see those good things—and I promise you, there are so many good things—they’re going to be so much brighter for you than they are for other people, just like the abyss always seems deeper and bigger when you stare at it. If you stick it out, it’s all going to feel worth it in the end. Every moment you live, every darkness you face, they’ll all feel worth it when you’re staring light in the face.
—  Emily Henry, The Love That Split the World