where are my mara dyer fans at

3

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

5/5 stars

Official Synopsis:

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying. 

My thoughts:

Peculiar, Eerie, and Beautiful.

After finishing this book, I was attempting to put my thoughts into words for my review. I kept turning over the events that unfolded throughout the story and eventually I kept coming back to these three.

Wink Poppy Midnight, while being unlike anything I’ve ever read, was also a combination of every YA trope possible. I think this was done purposefully. Wink, an avid reader, thinks in a very plot-like manner. She seems to live her life like its a story book; constantly grouping people into hero and villain categories. Seemingly this would send a novel down a very predictable path; but that is not the case with this. What I loved most about Tucholke’s writing was that even when you think you’ve figured out the plot, something else unravels and you’re back to where you began. Every detail of this book leads you to so many different assumptions; my head was spinning with each new clue that was presented.

I don’t think it’s possible for me to properly review this book without giving too much away. I will recommend going into this completely blind for the full experience. I had no information about this book, other than the blurb, and it was such a thrill. I devoured this book in one sitting. The writing so lyrical and beautiful; I couldn’t get enough.

Recommended for fans of The Raven Boys and Mara Dyer.

Quotes:

“Revenge. Justice. Love. They are the three stories that all other stories are made up of. It’s the trifecta.” 

“All good Heroes are scared, if they know the evil they face.”

“When you look into the darkness, the darkness looks into you.” 

“Of course its true. All the strangest things are true.”

Buy on Amazon

Add on Goodreads