waiting patiently for my copy

Modern Books for Fans of Pride and Prejudice

Many moons ago, I heard that one of my favorite novelists – Curtis Sittenfeld – would be writing a modern Pride and Prejudice adaptation. And I was like 

And I waited patiently to get my hands on it. 

And finally, I got a beautiful copy of Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld. 

And one Saturday morning, I got some coffee, some Muncher’s donuts, and sat in to read it in one sitting, which is in my opinion, the best way to read a book. 

And I was like 

laughing like Taylor Swift. It was that cute, adorable, and hilarious. 

And it immediately had me wanting to read some more Austen-level comedy-drama about family and romantic relationships. Once I’m on a wave, I just like to ride it out. 

So here are some books to satisfy your Pride and Prejudice cravings: 

The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P by Adelle Waldman

If you like smart romance with a keen insight into characters, this story of finding love in modern day New York will hit the spot. 

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

This novel has the intimate look close relationships between women that so many love about Pride and Prejudice coupleed with an adorable romance that is not without its share of bumps. 

Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close

Dry humor and sweet friendships make this a fun look at modern quest for love. 

The Madwoman Upstairs by Catherine Lowell

If you love the Bronte sisters like you love Austen, this modern story of a woman on a Bronte themed scavenger hunt to find her inheritance (with the help of a condescending but charming professor) will surely please. 

Burning Down the House by Jane Mendelsen

Austen’s novels also subtly critique social customs around wealth and privilege. A bit darker than the previous suggestions, this literary drama focuses on a young woman adopted into a world of privilege, and a nanny who was trafficked as a child. An intimate look at a complicated family and a indictment of capitalism.  

What modern novels would you recommend to fans of Pride and Prejudice

Happy reading! 

- molly, collection development 

Me: *patiently waits until husband gets home to happily show him my new illustrated copy of Harry Potter*

Husband: Yeah, yeah….  no one cares about Harry Potter.   We don’t care about your boyfriend.

Me: *sticks out my tongue at husband*

Husband: *sticks out his tongue at me*

Husband: He’s gay anyway!

Me: He’s not my boyfriend he’s Draco’s boyfriend

Husband: *pointed look*