Yep! American Pharoah lived up to the favouritism in the Kentucky Derby just as Gleneagles did earlier in the 2,000 Guineas!
American Pharoah, son of 2009 Kentucky Derby runner-up Pioneerof The Nile, gave breeder/owner Zayat Stables their first Derby, jockey Victor Espinoza his third (and second consecutive) and trainer Bob Baffert his fourth.
2 May 2015.

Firing Line and Gary Stevens (pink cap) finished second, the winner’s stable companion Dortmund and Martin Garcia (dark blue cap) third, Godolphin’s adorable Frosted and Joel Rosario fourth.
My lovely Mubtaahij baby and Christophe Soumillon finished eighth.
Full result here.

Congratulations to all connections! :-)

Photo: Mathea Kelley


The dark side of horse racing you won’t hear about on TV 

A win at tomorrow’s Belmont Stakes would make American Pharoah the first horse to win the coveted Triple Crown since 1978. Lost in the adulation of the winner’s circle, however, were the extreme steps jockey Victor Espinoza took to get there — specifically the subtle form of animal abuse Pharoah was made to endure.

Here we have the 2015 American Triple Crown winner! And I’m still not crying…. It’s just, like, raining. A lot. Inside.

American Pharoah, ridden by Victor Espinoza, lands the Belmont Stakes by daylight at Belmont and the American Triple Crown, 6 June 2015. by daylight

Frosted and Joel Rosario (blue silks) finished second, Keen Ice and Kent Desormeaux (green silks) third by a head over my Mubtaahij baby and Irad Ortiz, Jr. (yellow silks).

Congratulations to all connections! :’)

Photo source: X

Congratulations to California Chrome who pulled away down the stretch for a dominant win at the 140th Kentucky Derby on Saturday at Churchill Downs. 

Taking charge at the top of the lane, California Chrome and jockey Victor Espinoza made a decisive move and quickly sprinted clear. They finished the 1 ¼ miles in 2:03.66.

The 5-2 favorite stretched his winning streak to five and Art Sherman, 77, became the oldest winning Derby trainer.



American Pharoah won the Belmont Stakes and the first Triple Crown since Affirmed in 1978!!! And what a win: wire to wire for a five-and-a-half-length win!!!

Congratulations to Zayat Stables, Bob Baffert, and Victor Espinoza for a truly historic win!!