this is not frank gehry

DECEMBER 27, 2016 - 362/366

The Frederick R. Weisman Art Museum was built in 1993. The most notable feature is the west-facing facade, which is covered by a stainless steel “skin,” and reflects the late afternoon light in a way that is both beautiful and slightly hazardous to drivers on the Washington Avenue Bridge. Designed by Frank Gehry, the Weisman is one of the most interesting buildings in Minneapolis, and the stainless steel panels were a precursor to Gehry’s iconic museum in Bilbao, Spain.


President Obama presents the 2016 Medal of Freedom to star-studded honorees

President Barack Obama honored actors Robert DeNiro, Cicely Tyson, Tom Hanks and Robert Redford with the nation’s highest civilian honor.

They are among 21 people Obama recognized with the Presidential Medal of Freedom at the White House on Tuesday.

Honorees from the sports world include basketball players Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Michael Jordan, along with veteran sports broadcaster Vin Scully.

Entertainers include Ellen DeGeneres, Diana Ross and Bruce Springsteen.

Other honorees are philanthropists Bill and Melinda Gates, polymath physicist Richard Garwin, architect Frank Gehry, designer Maya Lin, “Saturday Night Live” producer Lorne Michaels, attorney Newt Minow, mathematician and computer scientist Margaret H. Hamilton, and Eduardo Padrón, president of Miami Dade College in Florida.

Posthumous honors went to Native American advocate Elouise Cobell and Rear Adm. Grace Hopper. (AP)

(Photos: Carlos Barria/Reuters [2], Yuri Gripas/Reuters [3])

See more from the ceremony on Yahoo News.