the-mystery-of-the-yellow-room

The Mystery of the Yellow Room (1930, dir. Marcel L'Herbier) (via)

“For the problem is this: we know by what way the assassin gained admission - he entered by the door and hid himself under the bed, awaiting Mademoiselle Stangerson. But how did he leave? How did he escape? If no trap, no secret door, no hiding place, no opening of any sort is found; if the examination of the walls—even to the demolition of the pavilion—does not reveal any passage practicable—not only for a human being, but for any being whatsoever—if the ceiling shows no crack, if the floor hides no underground passage, one must really believe in the Devil.”

-Gaston Leroux, The Mystery of the Yellow Room (1907)

anonymous asked:

Have you read any other Leroux books? If so can you recommend one?

Yes! I’d recommend that you start with “The Mystery of the Yellow Room” and then read “The Perfume of the Lady in Black.” They are both detective fiction novels, and feature Joseph “Rouletabille” Josephin, a brilliant, 18-year-old investigative journalist. Rouletabille was in many ways a glorified version of Leroux himself.

“The Mystery of the Yellow Room” is what is referred to as a “locked room mystery,” in that the events happen within a locked space in which it seems impossible for a crime to be committed. It was one of the earliest examples of this genre, and it inspired later detective fiction novelists, such as Agatha Christie. In the novel, Rouletabille investigates the crime … and discovers more than he was bargaining for!

“The Perfume of the Lady in Black” picks up where “Yellow Room” left off. I don’t want to say too much about it, because I don’t want to give away any details about “Yellow Room.”

If you like this character, you’re in luck, because Leroux wrote seven novels featuring Rouletabille (though several of them are no longer in print in English). All of Leroux’s Rouletabille novels are available in French (I have them on my Kindle), since in France Leroux is much more famous for Rouletabille than for Phantom. I’d recommend these novels to any students of French who are looking for a fun reading experience, especially after reading Phantom.

The Mystery of the Yellow Room
  • The Mystery of the Yellow Room
  • Alvin Band
  • Mantis Preying
Play

Alvin Band - “The Mystery of the Yellow Room”

NOTE: This is the side project of the drummer of Miniature Tigers. What makes this album so special and interesting to listen to is that almost everything you hear is actually a capella vocals. Fans of Miniature Tigers & Animal Collective should check out this record.

The Mystery of the Yellow Room by Gaston Leroux

When checking out The Phantom of the Opera, I stumbled upon some of the authors other works and of all of them, this one came the most highly recommended.  Although it’s not the first locked room detective mystery to be written, it’s said to be one of the most highly regarded.  Huh.

Although a short novel, with its writting style severly dated, I did find this a lot of fun to read and on a whole enjoyed it more than Phantom.

It is narrated by Jean Sainclair (lawyer & friend of R), the story is that of Rouletabille (a young investigative reporter whose name I can not pronounce for the life of me) who is intent on solving the mysterious attack that happened in the yellow room.  OoooOOOoo.

Bizarre detective techniques: There was one section where the young woman who had been viciously attacked took a breath to tell her story from her sickbed… and the interviewing constabulary (Not Rouletabille) forstalled her and gently said something along the lines of “Dear lady, let us save you from putting too much strain upon yourself.  We shall ask some questions, only answer those."  …what?  They had a freaking eye-witness and stopped her from telling all she knew?  I hope this was only a literary device and not something that the author drew from his real life experience as an investigative reporter.  O.o!

My thoughts of "The mystery of the yellow room" - by Gaston Leroux

Well then, these are some thoughts of that book.
I´ll try to hold it spoiler-free, though if you don´t want to get eventually spoiled, better don´t read past that point.

Well then, I just finished the book and honestly… my feelings are mixed.

Agatha Christie and even John Dickson Carr, the most known locked room mystery author said that “The mystery of the yellow room” was one, if not the best detective story ever written.

I´d like to agree with this, but people who know me, also know what in my opinion is the best mystery ever written.
But that´s not what Im trying to say.

Well then. About the book.
The book was a bit difficult to read. I had the feeling it was a rather old way of speaking (obviously duh). It was rather easy to follow, but it got sometimes tiring, because of long sentences. 
The narrative felt a bit dry in my opinion, just because there was not much going on till about half trough the book.

I have to say I did not solve the mystery entirely.
I had about 2/3 of the problems solved.
And theres the point.

The mysteries in the book were actually really dazzling and just mindblowing, even for someone who loves and already knows locked room mysteries like me.
Though that´s only what it looks from the outside.

In the narrative itself it was said, that the solution was easier then expected, which is great and that´s also how I got 2/3 of the mystery solved.
I could break the locked room, the mysterious gallery and the stabbed body within few hypothesis.
I had the feeling the mystery was just held up by the pressure of evidence shoved in ones face.
The evidence that was presented, made it look like some insanely hard problem with twists and things like that, however they were actually not that helpful in order to solve the mysteries. Even the detective in the story sometimes ignored them.
Though these hints did lead to the culprit.

And theres my second point of criticism.
The culprit. This point of criticism is actually just a problem I created myself with the kind help of my favourite author ryukishi.
And that problem is the conflict between two rules of mystery. Though to be fair, Im not even sure if the mystery of the yellow room was written before or after these rules were created.
Anyways. I did not find the culprit, however I solved the mysteries and that´s why I said i just solved 2/3 of the entire mystery.
I had suspected the true culprit to be the culrpit, but maybe as my last or second to last option, just because I aknowledged the situation to be like it was portrayed.
And that´s what annoyed me a bit. Many things didn´t make sense to me with the true culprit as the culprit at the beginning, but at the end it got it´s solution somehow. Though it might not have been that satisfactory.
It just used means that were not really talked about in the book and just got forgotten.
It was a twist, indeed, but I just had the feeling it was not really a twist you had the chance of  finding out like it was just by what was written in the book.

Also theres a really small point of criticism at the end.
It´s more my own opinion though.
I like my stories, just like I like my chocolate: Dark.
And the ending certainly seemed to be like these comical, relieve moments you usually see in media.
I wouldn´t have minded that small poit, no I actually would have liked that. The problem here was that it was parallel to the conclusion and that took the tension out of the moment of conviction. 

Maybe Im a bit too hard with the mystery of the yellow room.
No, certainly I am.
One has to mention though that the mystery of the yellow room was one of the first full fledged locked room mysteries and had a huge inpact on this genre. So it might be unfair to compare it to other works.
I just felt, that the conclusion could have been made so much better if the who and the whydunnit was something that the reader could have traced back in the story much more easily.

However i had quite some fun with this mystery and if I had to give it a rating it would propably be around 7-8/10, Usually it would be lower, but I don´t want to give it a lower grade, so there you go.

(Also sorry for my horrible english. Im tired and now I´ll go take a break.)

RECOMMENDED 



Au sein d'une nature sauvage / In the bosom of wild nature

Its solitude, in the depths of woods, was what, more than all, had pleased them. They would have none to witness their labours and intrude on their hopes, but the aged stones and grand old oaks. The Glandier— ancient Glandierum— was so called from the quantity of glands (acorns) which, in all times, had been gathered in that neighbourhood. This land, of present mournful interest, had fallen back, owing to the negligence or abandonment of its owners, into the wild character of primitive nature. The buildings alone, which were hidden there, had preserved traces of their strange metamorphoses. Every age had left on them its imprint; a bit of architecture with which was bound up the remembrance of some terrible event, some bloody adventure. Such was the chateau in which science had taken refuge— a place seemingly designed to be the theatre of mysteries, terror, and death.

Gaston Leroux. Mystery of the Yellow Room

always-aaack-for-everlark These are all my Pokemon games!

2 Pokemon Ranger
5 Mystery Dungeons
And Eleven of the main games!

I have the original Gameboy games too, like Yellow,Silver and Gold but lost them somewhere.

(Not pictured are my Pokemon Y and Pokemon Omega games because I forgot to get Y from my room and Omega Ruby was in my DS.)

gettingiton asked:

purple, black :)

Purple: 10 facts about my room

  • I have a giant Union Jack/Beatles mural on the wall above my bed that took me like 3 months to paint entirely
  • I have another quote on my wall that’s kinda wompy jawed that says “sixty-four years is 33,661,440 minutes and one minute is a long time ….”
  • I plan on putting aNOTHER quote, this time one from George Harrison, on the remaining negative space in my room, and also painting a yellow submarine swimming between this room and the bat cave (my game room)
  • I have the six little buddha statues in my room underneath my 64 quote
  • I have a record player and about 7 or so albums on vinyl
  • I have a big, framed poster hanging over my television that’s “A Magical Mystery Tour of 100 Beatles Songs” and basically the whole painting is a huge mural and 100 songs are represented in everything that’s happening individually
  • I have an entire shelf dedicated to my Harry Potter memorabilia and movies and stuff
  • I have two hat hooks that I use to hang hats and my apron for work on
  • I also have a Beatles comforter and bed set B)
  • I believe making my room into a place I genuinely want to be makes it more peaceful to actually be there, more inviting and comfortable 

Black: 1 fact about the person I like

  • They’re someone I feel like I can be my authentic, uncensored self with, and I don’t think I’ve ever actually come upon anyone like that short of my best friend. There’s no drama, no anxiety, and everything they do just makes things better instead of worse.