▪Tapestry: Portière aux Armes de France.
Artist/Maker: woven under the direction of Etienne-Claude Le Blond (French, about 1700 - 1751)
Pierre-Josse Perrot (French, active 1724 - 1750)
Royal Factory of Furniture to the Crown at the Gobelins Manufactory (French, founded 1662 - present)
Place: Gobelins, France
Date: designed 1727, woven about 1730 - 1740
Medium: Wool and silk; modern cotton lining
Jeune Fille Lisant. Charles-Louis-Lucien Müller (French, 1815-1892). Oil on canvas.
Müller was the pupil of Léon Cogniet, Baron Gros and others in the École des Beaux-Arts. In 1837 he exhibited his first picture, Christmas Morning. From 1850 to 1853 he directed the manufacture of Gobelin tapestries. In 1864 he became a member of the Académie des Beaux-Arts of the Institut de France.
A Woman Reading. Charles Louis Lucien Müller (French, 1815-1892). Oil on canvas.
Müller was the pupil of Léon Cogniet, Baron Gros and others in the École des Beaux-Arts. From 1850 to 1853 he directed the manufacture of Gobelin tapestries. In 1864 he became a member of the Académie des Beaux-Arts of the Institut de France, succeeding Jean-Hippolyte Flandrin.
Inside the Palace - The Gobelin Tapestries at Linderhof Palace (Upper Bavaria, German)
Linderhof Palace in Southwest Bavaria, Germany is the smallest of three palaces built by King Ludwig II of Bavaria. The building was designed in the style of second rococo-period, between 1863 and 1886. Linderhof Palace was built as an imitation of Versailles in France.
Factory: Tapestry probably woven at Royal Manufactory Beauvais 1664-1789
Date: ca. 1755–65
Culture: British and French, probably Beauvais
This rococo chair is part of a larger set of seat furniture supplied to the third Duke of Ancaster (1714–1778) for Grimsthorpe Castle, Lincolnshire. Executed in the French taste, fashionable in mid-eighteenth century England, the set was originally partly gilt and upholstered with Gobelins tapestry (now in the Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam) after designs by the painter François Boucher. The present covers were applied between 1934 and 1958.