tangerine records


FULL ALBUM: Zeit by Tangerine Dream (1972)

Tangerine Dream are a German electronic music collective founded in 1967 by Edgar Froese. The group has seen many personnel changes over time, with Froese being the only continuous member until his death in 2015. Noted electronic music artist Klaus Schulze was briefly a member in an early lineup. The most constant line-up during their most influential period was the trio Froese, Christopher Franke, and Peter Baumann.

Tangerine Dream’s recorded output has been prolific, having released over 100 albums. Their “Virgin Years” produced albums that helped define what became known as the Berlin School of electronic music. These and later albums were influential in both the development of electronic dance music and also new-age music, although the band themselves disliked that term. From the late 1990s into the 2000s, Tangerine Dream continued to explore other styles of electronica.

Even with their many studio and live recordings, many fans were introduced to Tangerine Dream by their film soundtracks. The group created over 60 soundtracks which include those for the films Sorcerer, Thief, Risky Business, The Keep, Firestarter, Legend, Near Dark, Shy People, and Miracle Mile. They also composed the score for the video game Grand Theft Auto V.

Current members are Thorsten Quaeschning, Hoshiko Yamane, and
Ulrich Schnauss.