After taking a massive financial hit from a now defunct publisher (which means having done all the work for what amounted to zero pay in the end, ON TOP OF having to buy back our IP for $2,000) @neekaneeks and I are teaming up to bring you:

Catarina’s Collection:
Calaverita Inspired Enamel Pins!

This is our VERY FIRST KICKSTARTER TOGETHER! I’m very exited to get back to work and to bring you all this LOVELY SET OF PINS!


Thanks for all the support you guys have shown me, and I can’t WAIT to share the everything I’ve been working on! The terrible experience I had with that now-closed-publisher hit me a lot harder than I’d anticipated, so being able to bring you guys artwork again is kind of really uplifting 😭💖💖




Beyond: The Queer Sci-Fi and Fantasy Comic Anthology edited by Sfé R. Monster @sfemonster and Taneka Stotts (nominee for outstanding anthology or collection)

Winner of of the 2016 Lambda Literary Award for best anthology, this collection includes 20 stories by variety of creators exploring speculative worlds from a LGBTQ perspective.  It is highly intelligent and often poignant, a must-read for all fans of genre fiction. (Pictured contributors- Shing Yin Khor @sawdustbear, Reed Black @reedicule, Gabby Reed, Rachel Dukes @mixtapecomics, Taneka Stotts, Christianne Goudreau @cedreau, Niki Smith @niki-smith, Blue Delliquanti @bluedelliquanti, Jon Cairns @joncairns, Ted Adrien Closson @vinegartom, Wm Brian MacLean).

For fans of Saga, Wet Moon, Runaways, The 100, Stardust

Check out Beyond and other Ignatz nominees on comiXology!

Check out graphic novels on comiXology!


An anthology by creators of color! You can find our GUIDELINES and SUBMISSION information on our website ELEMENTS ANTHOLOGY! If you have a questions feel free to submit an ASK!

Our current CONTRIBUTORS include:


In this anthology you’ll find sci-fi and fantasy comics of all kinds. There are comics about ghosts, dragons, goblins, aliens, robots and even alien robots. It also features queer characters of all kinds, there are protagonists of all genders (and no gender), all sexualities and across different body types, ages and ethnicities. 

Drawn to Comics: ‘Beyond’ Anthology is Packed Full of Terrific Queer Sci-Fi and Fantasy

Beyond - the queer sci-fi/fantasy comic anthology - is going to Kickstarter!

Featuring 17 stories from 25 creators, Beyond is a 250 page, black and white, queer comic anthology.  Full of dragon slayers, swashbuckling space pirates, monster royalty, and death-defying astronauts.  Each story celebrates and showcases unquestionably queer characters as they have adventures, mix magic, explore the galaxy, and save the day.  

The Beyond Anthology is edited by Sfé R. Monster, and assistant edited by Taneka Stotts.  For a full list of contributors see here.  For more information about the anthology click here

The Kickstarter for Beyond launches March 16th, 2015!!

Here’s a massive post about AFAR, a comic I’m writing!!! It’s a YA original graphic novel with art by Kit Seaton (aka: @drawlequin​, The Black Bull of Noroway, Eve of All Saints), edited by Taneka Stotts (Beyond: The Queer Sci-Fi & Fantasy Comic Anthology, Full Circle), and will be published by Image Comics in November of this year.

Here’s the gist:

AFAR follows Boetema, a fifteen year old girl who suddenly begins to astral project in her dreams.  While she’s controlling another girl’s body on a planet light-years away from her own, she accidentally gets a young man hurt by an oppressive adversary and must figure out how to project herself back to the same planet to save him.

While Boetema struggles with her new abilities, her dorky little brother, Inotu, falls into trouble with a local cyborg. The two siblings must cross a dangerous desert wasteland to escape Inotu’s ultimate doom, forcing them to work together like they never have before.

We’ve been working on AFAR for almost a year now, and we finally had the pleasure of announcing it this month at Image Expo! The book will be around 140 pages and published as an original graphic novel. I’ll be posting lots about it when it’s time to start pre-ordering, but for now here are some of Kit’s pages and concept sketches. Her art is so beautiful, no?

Kit and I know each other from our days at the Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design, where we both got our Illustration degrees. I would see her art on the walls and be insanely jealous of how wonderful every single piece of her work was. Once I had the chance to write for her, I wanted to include a wide range of people, places, costumes, creatures, emotions and humor and she’s done such a kick butt job at all of it! I can’t wait for you to see the glory of her abilities when the book is out later this year!

Here’s a preview over at CBR and here’s an interview we had over at Vox.com.

Come check out the Kickstarter TODAY! 

the harpy agenda, august 2015

The Harpy Agenda is a microgrant for comics journalism by writers of color founded and run by Shing Yin Khor & Taneka Stotts. You can read an interview with Khor here. I’m the second recipient, after JA Micheline’s “The White Privilege, White Audacity, and White Priorities of Strange Fruit #1,” and I got the award for an untitled post about Marvel’s hip-hop homage covers and their hiring practices. I’m grateful for the honor, and after talking with Khor & Stotts, I’m going to pay it forward and donate my reward to two places I think are doing good work: Women Write About Comics, which is probably my main place to find original writing about comics right now, and Vixen Varsity/Black Comics Month, which does a tremendous amount of legwork in spreading the good word.

I’m passing it on because I got my first paid freelance gig in 2003 or so writing about video games before I started writing about comics. I know how thankless it can be, and now that I’m in a place where I don’t really have to worry about pitching or invoicing, I want to try to help somebody else get there, too. I’m doing okay.

I wish we had a better phrase for it, but comics journalism/comics criticism/talking about comics on the internet counts. It’s how we connect with each other, how we figure out where we’re headed, and how we look at what we have and take stock of whether it’s worth anything. I went from reader to critic to non-creative professional, and my time writing and reading criticism informs what I do in my 9-5. I wouldn’t be who or where I am without reading and vibing with people like Tucker Stone, Gavin Jasper, Sean Witzke, Joe McCulloch, Cheryl Lynn, Abhay Khosla, and the FBB4l! def squad. And now that I’m who I am, and where I am, maybe I can pair that knowledge with my influence.

If you’re one of the precious few getting paid to write about comics online, you probably get paid once and that’s a wrap, no matter how big a post goes. I know of only one site that gives bonuses for traffic, and I dunno if they still do. I’m pretty sure nobody ever got rich talking about race and comic books on the internet, so in my mind, it’s even more of a labor of love than writing about comics, which probably also never made anybody rich. You can’t really do it for the hits, unless a little bit of walking around money is tall paper wherever you’re from.

There aren’t a lot of upsides to writing about comics, but the few that exist count for a lot. Some people will jump down your throat for speaking your mind and others will fake interest to look good. They don’t matter. They’re ghosts. The ones who count are the people who hit you with “Dang, I didn’t know it was like that” or “Thank you” or just RT your joint because they feel it and can’t add no more to it.

I respect the Harpy Agenda, and Khor & Stotts, because they’re on a similar wave and trying to force direct change through encouragement. The more we talk about this stuff, the more “normal” it becomes, in terms of being part of our daily comics conversation. It’s easy for companies to shift a conversation in their favor through the sheer weight of their voice, so it’s important we encourage and support those who are agitating for change—without demanding that they agitate on our own terms—until a day comes that we can make that change real.

That’s it. Thank you.

Hello everyone!

As many of you know, Beyond (that is: both myself and Taneka) will be at TCAF next month! We’re looking to ship the anthology there and as such have put an extremely limited number of softcover copies of Beyond up for sale in the Beyond Press store!

Other than being at TCAF or VanCAF in May this is the only chance you’ll have to grab yourself a softcover copy of the book before it’s completely out of print (and we don’t know when we’ll be able to reprint it)!

Grab your copy now at beyond-press.com!