tales of dice adventure


Tales of the World: Dice Adventure.

I’ve recently gotten somewhat addicted to this game, so I thought I would make a post about it. There’s already a great “getting started” guide on tumblr, and the character sprites (do we call them “sprites”?), so I’ll focus less on how the game is played and just mention some things I’ve noticed. Also, I could be totally wrong on a few of these points, so feel free to correct me if you know better.

Dice Adventure is a flash-based internet browser game. Upon making an account, you’re given a party of four Tales characters at semi-random including one ® character with a blue base and slightly raised stats. (For example, I was started off with (N) Annie, (N) Meredy, (N) Caius, and ® Zelos.) The object(s) of the game are to collect all the characters and to level/power/beef up your party members. There are “quests” you can play with other players and/or NPCs to gain items, experience, and lottery cards; a tower mode you can undertake on your own; and a coliseum where you can battle other players and monsters for prizes. There’s also an item shop and an option to “teach” your characters by sacrificing items, characters and/or gald.

The battle system itself is mostly automated. You load healing items, etc. into slots (for use before and after your roll), click the dice button to begin your turn, and the program does the rest - moving your avatar, controlling battles, and so on based upon randomly generated dice rolls. In quest mode you can enter a room, wait for the loading screen to appear, and then leave to do your own thing until the quest finishes. (That is, each round lasts about five minutes, and if you aren’t there for your roll, the computer does it for you.) Tower mode, on the other hand, requires you to roll the dice each turn with an option to continue to the next floor once your current one’s been cleared.

Experience points level you (your avatar) up, but it does not level up your party members. Rather, in order to increase their levels, you sacrifice duplicate characters which are then absorbed by your chosen character to raise their level. You can sacrifice up to four at a time (plus gald). Items can be sacrificed to increase their magic or give them elemental attributes.

So, now on to ten things that might (maybe!) be useful to know if you are a newbie like me and can’t read Japanese:

0. Even if you don’t particularly like them, you JUST MIGHT want to keep your starter characters. Chances are you won’t soon get them again from a lottery ticket.

1. If you’re trying to level up, try replaying the first (Lv. 1) quest. You can win on average about 3-5 lottery tickets from it. Also try playing at different times of the day/every day. Between different hours you will automatically be given a lottery ticket just by logging into the game. After receiving about five bronze tickets, you’ll get a silver one. (Note: Results are actually about the same for each, with a slightly higher ® frequency in silver tickets. I think.)

2. Check news updates (you can use services like “Google Translate” to help). This will let you know about special events that offer limited edition characters as well as (sometimes) increased frequency of ® characters and other things. They also announce site maintenance well in advance.

3. The site is there to make money. (But thankfully it doesn’t nag you. Instead it makes you go “oooh, ahhhh how awesome, look at that fightin’ Yuri, I need it!”) Unless you pay real world currency, you will not be able to collect a large portion of the [often much cooler] characters. Within a few weeks of play, I’ve collected all of the (N) free characters available. Periodically more are added to the list, and this is good for leveling up, but after a while of getting duplicates, the glamor factor will wear off. Some shop items also require real cash, while others can be purchased with gald earned in the game.

4. Focus on leveling up ® characters or higher; they have better stats. You will have lots of (N) versions of characters in a short time - use these to level up. Also consider limiting most of your efforts to the eight characters in your two parties.

5. Levels do not appear to transfer over in full when you sacrifice characters to “teach” others. If you sacrifice a Lv. 10 (N) Luke to level up your Lv. 1 ® Luke, the result will NOT be a Lv. 11 ® Luke, although he will level up a little more than he would by sacrificing a Lv. 1 character. After reaching a certain level, the site appears to indicate that your ® characters can “evolve” into a shinier base.

6. If you fail any level (at least up to 10, I haven’t gotten much further than that) of tower mode, you will have to restart from the very beginning. While this can be good for item collection, it can also become tedious. If you don’t wish to repeat tower floors, make sure your party members are at a sufficient level before you reach the boss floors (5F Guy, 10F Iria, etc).

7. Don’t even bother with the coliseum unless you’re at a significantly high level (Lv. 40). You do not have to battle the party who appears (you can just leave the page), but most people seem to be at least at Lv. 40 or so. (I haven’t tried anything with this, so let me know if you find anything out!)

8. There’s actually a friend contact/friendness option! During quests there’s a window where you can type in notes which (I think) can be viewed by all persons in the room. Playing with friends could be a fun opportunity and help break up the monotony of waiting through five minute turn cycles.

9. Pay attention to party order (blue tab is your quest party, pink is your tower party). When clicking on a character in your party, a guide will appear above their head which indicates maximum damage which can be dealt to enemies in each of the four positions from closest (left) to furthest away (right). If a spot indicates “0” no damage can be done. A good rule of thumb is to move swordsmen and melee fighters to the right-hand side of the party and ranged fighters and healers to the left side. The big numbers to watch (again, I think) are HP/TP and those maximum damage numbers. You want your leading fighter to have high HP because they generally sustain the most damage in battle.

10. If there’s a super-cute or super-cool character you just have to have a copy of, you can easily save the art of them onto your harddrive by right-clicking on their image in one of the informational/settings pages. (SR) can be obtained from coliseum start-up screens. You could also use “print screen” and paste into an image editing program or look up series/character file naming conventions (if you can’t find who you want) to dig for characters.  See below.

This is the file name for a normal ® Zelos without the .png extension:


Here 008 represents the number for Tales of Symphonia. 07 represents Zelos’ slot. 02 indicates this is his second ® form.

Let’s try another one:


Here 011 represents Tales of Legendia. 04 represents Chloe. 01 represents this is her first (N) form.

Last one:


Here 012 represents Tales of the Abyss. 02 represents Tear. If this were her normal sprite, the next number might be 04, but because it’s a 14, it indicates this is an alternate “special” version in its fourth (UR) form. Ch0120224 is another different (swimsuit) version in (UR) form.

See? Easy!

(P.S. I lied. There are eleven.)