surah fatir [35]

Day 23 - The 8 gates and 8 levels of Jannah

“And those who feared their Lord will be led to the Garden in crowds, until behold, they arrive there. Its gates will be opened, and its keepers will say: ‘Peace be upon you! You have done well! Enter here, to dwell therein.” (Quran 39:73)

The 8 Gates:

  1. Baabus Salaah: Those who were consistent in observing their Salaah will be granted entry through this door.
  2.  Baabul Jihad: Those who participated in Jihad will be granted entry through this door.
  3. Baabus Sadaqah: Those who frequently gave Sadaqah will be admitted into Jannah through this door.
  4. Baabur Rayyaan: The people who constantly observed the fast will be granted entry through this door.
  5. Baabul Hajj: Those who observe the pilgrimage will be admitted through this door.
  6.  Baabul Kaazimeenal Ghaiz Wal Aafina Anin Naas: This door is reserved for those who suppress their anger and pardon others.
  7. Baabul Aiman: This door is reserved for the entry of such people who are saved from reckoning and chastisement (The Awliyah).
  8. Baabuz Zikr: Those who excessively remembered Allah will be admitted through this door.

The 8 Levels:

  1. Jannat al- Adn:
    “Adn” means “recidence” and “eternal place”.“(If you do so) He will forgive you your sins, and admit you into Gardens under which rivers flow, and pleasant dwelling in Gardens of ‘Adn [‘Adn (Edn) Paradise], that is indeed the great success.” (Surah as-Saf 12)“Allah promiseth to the believers, men and women, Gardens underneath which rivers flow, wherein they will abide – blessed dwellings in Gardens of Eden. And – greater (far)! – acceptance from Allah. That is the supreme triumph.” (Surah at-Tawbah 72)
  2. Jannat al- Firdaws: 
    “Firdaws” means “garden which has all kinds of plants”. It is also described as the garden therein the grape vines. Because the Jannat al- Firdaws is over all jannahs and is superior to them, it is advised to be asked primarily. (Kutub-i Sitta)
  3. Jannat an-Naeem: “Naim” means a prosperous and peaceful life, living in wealth, welfare and blessings. “Lo! those who believe and do good works, their Lord guideth them by their faith. Rivers will flow beneath them in the Gardens of Delight. (Jannat-an Naim)” (Surah al Yunus, 9) 
  4. Jannat al- Mawa: 
    “Mawa” means “place to take refuge; dwelling, home.” This level is also mentioned as the abode for the martyred (shahid) and the Mumins. “But as for those who believe and do righteous deeds, for them are the Gardens of Retreat (Jannat al-Mawa)- a welcome (in reward) for what they used to do.” (Surah as- Sajdah, 19)
  5. Dar-ul Khuld:
    Khuld means being eternal, everlasting; eternity, immortality. “Say: Is that (doom) better or the Garden of Immortality (Dar-ul Khuld) which is promised unto those who ward off (evil)? It will be their reward and journey’s end.” (Surah al- Furqan, 15)
  6. Dar-ul Maqaam:
    Means “the essence place to stay, land to dwell eternally, the safe place.” “Who, of His grace, hath installed us in the mansion of eternity, where toil toucheth us not nor can weariness affect us.” (Surah al -Fatir, 35)
  7. Dar-us Salaam:
    Means home of peace and safety; abode of well-being. “For them will be the home of peace (Paradise) with their Lord. And He will be their Protector because of what they used to do.” (Surah al An`am, 127) Dar al-salaam is a place where its speech is salaam—meaning free of all negative and evil talk. As Allah (swt) describes, “They will not hear therein ill speech or commission of sin – Only a saying: ‘Peace, peace,’” (Qur’an, 56:25-26). It is dar al-salaam because there will be no enmity nor hatred among the inhabitants of Paradise. The Prophet ﷺ said, “They will neither have differences nor hatred amongst themselves; their hearts will be as if one heart,” (Bukhari). 
  8. Illiyyun:
    The highest level of Jannah for the most perfect muslims. “No! Indeed, the record of the righteous is in ‘illiyyun. And what can make you know what is ‘illiyyun? It is [their destination recorded in] a register inscribed” – 83:18-20. Nay!, verily, the record of the pious, that is, the record of the deeds of the believers who were sincere in their faith, is in ‘Illiyyūn — this is said to be the book [containing] all the good deeds of the angels and the believers from among the two heavy ones [sc. mankind and jinn]; but it is also said to be a place below the Throne in the seventh heaven.

{ يَا أَيُّهَا النَّاسُ إِنَّ وَعْدَ اللَّهِ حَقٌّ ۖ فَلَا تَغُرَّنَّكُمُ الْحَيَاةُ الدُّنْيَا ۖ وَلَا يَغُرَّنَّكُم بِاللَّهِ الْغَرُورُ}
“O mankind, indeed the promise of Allah is truth, so let not the worldly life delude you and be not deceived about Allah by the Deceiver.”

Surah Fatir [35:5]