st. lola

8

(x)

The organ trilled into life as the doors opened and the two little flower girls began to toddle up the aisle, merrily flinging handfuls of petals at the guests that cooed down at them. Ellery felt a nervous lump stick fast in his throat as Lola entered, and behind her Céilí on the arm of the Baron, her face nearly as white as her veil, wide-eyed and unblinking like she was a deer looking down the barrel of a rifle.

He swallowed thickly, feeling another clawing pang of self-loathing that he was doing this to her. Her eyes found his and he offered what he hoped was a reassuring smile, then flicked his gaze to the group of her friends from America, sticking out like a flock of feral pigeons among doves. Céilí’s eyes followed his, falling on Aurelie who was grinning wickedly at Céilí. She poked her finger through a hole made by her other hand, waggling the rude gesture in Ellery’s direction and nodding approvingly.

Céilí stifled a laugh as they passed her, forcing her gaze demurely to the floor as she struggled to keep her composure. When she looked up, the cold spell had been broken, and she smiled at the man waiting at the end of the aisle for her.

3

Playlists for:

Anna And The French Kiss 

Lola And The Boy Next Door

Isla And The Happily Ever After

The writer, Stephanie Perkins ( naturallysteph ), has also a playlist for them in her website, I looove them.

But I made these with some of my favourite artist and bands, anyway you should check the ones she made because obviously they are way better.

3

Anna and the French Kiss

Atlanta was home for almost eighteen years, and though I’ve only known Paris for the last nine months, it’s changed me. I have a new city to learn next year, but I’m not scared.
Because I was right. For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It’s a person.
And we’re finally home.

Lola and the Boy Next Door

“Are you ready?” he asks.
“I am.”
“Are you scared?”
“I’m not.”
He takes my hand and squeezes it. I hold my head high toward my big entrance, hand in hand with the boy who gave me the moon and the stars.

Isla and the Happily Ever After

“The last page.” He gestures towards the table, where a pencilled sketch is being turned into inked brushstrokes. It’s a drawing of us, in this café, in this moment.
I smile up at him. “It’s beautiful. But what comes next?”
“The best part.” And he pulls me back into his arms. “The happily ever after.”

3

Books I read in 2017: Anna and the French Kiss series by Stephanie Perkins

“I love you as certain dark things are loved, secretly, between the shadow and the soul.”

HMH Teen Recommends: 5 Great Reads!

We know you’re always on the lookout for books to add to your ever-growing TBR—look no further than the list below! We’re pairing some of your favorite YA books with some of our titles to make a perfect match.

If you like SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA by Becky Albertalli…try GIRLS LIKE ME by Lola St. Vil

Both of these books will leave you with that feel-good feeling from reading an emotional story with a happy ending. And they both involve the twists and turns that come with falling in love online!

Shay, a fat girl who is still mourning the death of her father, meets a guy online and the chemistry is electric. The problem? He’s the cutest, most popular guy in her grade, and she is convinced if he knew who she really was, he’d never like her. So Shay keeps her identity a secret…that is, until she can’t anymore. One of the other things we love about this book is the close friendship she has with her friends Dash and Boots—just like Simon has with his! These fluffy reads are book BFFS, and belong together on your shelf.

If you like ONE OF US IS LYING by Karen McManus…try WITH MALICE by Eileen Cook

We love a good pysch thriller, where no one can be trusted and the ending makes you question everything you just read! One of our newer favorites is ONE OF US IS LYING, where a group of teens become suspects in the murder of one of their classmates. It’s so thrilling and twisty!

If there’s anyone who knows a thing or two about lying, it’s Skye Thorn of THE HANGING GIRL. She’s a professional at it—charging classmates for tarot card readings and taking advantage of their vulnerabilities is what Skye is good at, even though she wishes it were different. But she’s trying to get money to cover up another lie: that she can’t afford to live with her best friend in New York after high school. Oh, and there was that other lie she told about her dad being a war hero…and her rep never really recovered once the truth got out.  But Skye’s lies are piling up, and when a harmless prank turns fatal, she has to tell just one more so she doesn’t end up in jail.

If you like THE YOUNG ELITES by Marie Lu…try GRAVE MERCY by Robin LaFevers

THE YOUNG ELITES is about a society of magical, villainous teens working to unseat corrupt rulers from power…and so is GRAVE MERCY, but with an extra twist: these aren’t just any teens, they are assassin nuns! And where do they get their power? From the God of death himself, Mortain.

This historical fantasy is perfect for fans of Marie Lu’s darkly romantic trilogy. There are three books so far, each focusing on a specific girl in the convent of St. Mortain. Courtly intrigue, romance, and villainy are present in every page—and there are two more books coming in this series, so marathon-read them now!

If you like ARISTOTLE AND DANTE by Benjamin Alire Saenz…try THE INEXPLICABLE LOGIC OF MY LIFE (also by him!)

ARISTOTLE AND DANTE is one of the best books of the decade, if not of all time. The love story of Ari and Dante is emotional and harrowing, as two boys meet and form a friendship that will carry them through some of the most difficult experiences of their lives such as homophobic encounters, discovering their own sexuality, deep-rooted machismo in atinx culture, violence, and much more.

Benjamin’s next YA book, THE INEXPLICABLE LOGIC OF MY LIFE, deals with many similar issues, but tells the story of three best friends through one POV. Sal is white, but he belongs to a Mexican American family after being adopted as a kid by his gay dad. It’s all about how family is something you can choose, and the family you are born into doesn’t have to define you. Sal, Sam and Fito suffer some great losses over the course of the book, but it binds them together not just as friends, but as a family. If you’re looking for another book that will make you cry and smile at the same time, this is it!

If you like THE SCORPION RULES by Erin Bow… try WASTE OF SPACE by Gina Damico

Sci fi is so much fun, especially when it combines humor and high-stakes action. That’s what we loved best about THE SCORPION RULES, a sci-fi dystopia about a group of teens kept as hostages in order to prevent their parents, rulers of their respective countries, from declaring war on one another. Add in a sadistic (and hilariously evil) teenage AI, and you’ve got a recipe for a perfect read.

WASTE OF SPACE is kind of the opposite of dystopian—in many ways, it’s actually a satire about the modern world, our reliance on technology, and the ridiculousness of reality TV—but it’s also a story with a lot of heart. This time the sadistic force at play is a TV show producer determined to do whatever possible to get the best ratings for his show…even if that means completely screwing over the ten teens who signed up to go to Mars and compete. When the show’s communication completely shuts down, leaving them abandoned in space (or so they think) the teens must unravel a conspiracy far greater than any of them imagined.

You can buy any of these books using the links below:

GIRLS LIKE ME

WITH MALICE

GRAVE MERCY

THE INEXPLICABLE LOGIC OF MY LIFE

WASTE OF SPACE

Which one of these books will be your next read? Let us know in comments!