spiritual symbols

“Aum is a word that represents to our ears the sound of the energy of the universe, of which all things are manifestations. Aum is a symbol, a symbolic sound that puts you in touch with that throbbing being that is the universe.”  -Joseph Campbell 

 Drawing and edit by me

Using Any Item For Magick 101

Symbols hold power and can be used to communicate with practically any aspect of the self. From words being symbols used to communicate via conscious thought, to art communicating meaning and feeling, to colors affecting instincts. Symbols even communicate to the unconscious mind, and in theory even to the spiritual aspects of Self.

Thus any item you wish to use for magick will be analyzed as a symbol. What does the item mean to you? What does it make you think of? What imagery comes to mind when you contemplate it? How does this relate to your magical cosmology?

Let us take a simple example of an old satellite dish, maybe one that was used for television. To me this brings up, rhetorically, the idea of communication and transmission of information. They seem to have the ability to both transmit and receive information.

Thus out of this old satilite dish I will make myself a magical apparatus which will transmit and receive information between microcosm and macrocosm. I will paint it a color which represents Neshamah (intuitive spiritual knowledge), and paint on it a sigil I designed to boost informational signal strength. Then I will wire it up to a switch and paint sigils along the switch positions, this will allow me to tune into different channels or places. Finally I will add some stone which fits the correspondence, and wire it into the whole contraption as if it was an energy source.

The basic idea is you find the meaning of the item then boost it using magick symbols which correlate to the same meaning. You take the spirit/meme of the item and empower it to suit the use of your will.

El Juício Final, Louis Cattiaux

“The extreme humiliation of  death is the compulsory entry to the splendour of heavenly life, for earthly  separation is the beginning of heaven manifested.”  -
Louis Cattiaux

: Cattiaux has made this painting using a particular iconography, allowing us to understand the mistery of the spiritual body:
In the middle of the night, illuminated by a nocturnal sun on which lies the celestial mother and after a mountain range which separates the scene from the profane world, a section of earth is illuminated by the miraculous event of the “tree man” breaking off his tombstone and growing towards the sun of midnight; they are made of the same essence, of the sun he has born and to the sun he shall return.
The “tree man” is “life” hapening again. The new man germinates as a tree.
It should be given attention as well to the texture of the canvas, the branches or the fingers of the resurected are painted in such a way that demonstrates a living being emerging towards the light coming along with two flowers, a red one and a blue one, whom germinate between the dead cross; one represents severity and another represents mercy.
In the background, pointing the vanishing point of the canvas, the morning star “closes” the cosmic cycle with the sun and the moon on that sacred night.
This painting of Louis Cattiaux shows us, through the tradtional iconography, the truth that arises from the dark earth. The hermetic philosophy teaches the same way that the truth is not only found on heaven but it is also hidden within the earth.

Hey, pagan friends, I had me a thought:

The correct people in Heathen circles (of which I am one) talk a lot about “reclaiming our faith,” since a lot of Germanic spiritual symbolism and language is also used by white supremacists; that talk has been motivated in large part by self-interest, since any reasonable person wouldn’t want to be associated with those assbags, but something occurred to me earlier today: It could also be an active offensive tactic.

A fun fact about the white nationalist movement is that there’s a *huge* religious schism inside of it; Odinists, atheistic National Socialists, and the Christian Identity people all cannot stand the sight of each other. If us Heathens–and I’m here using that as an umbrella term for every kind of non-Abrahemic spirituality with a vaguely Northern European flavor, from Asatru to druidry to certain tendencies of Wicca–did something no more substantial than try to be more vocal and visible talking about who we are and what we do, it could throw a wrench in their works, could hamper their solidarity.

I’m telling y'all to go out there and start blogs or YouTube channels or make memes or what the heck ever, take control of the narrative, and I think you could literally save lives.

Magnus Bane and the keris

I was waiting for someone with more authority to talk about this (preferably from Indonesia), but since I haven’t seen much about the kris/ keris floating around, I thought I’d do my best. If I say something incorrect please let me know.

Firstly, I’m ridiculously happy that Magnus was kept as Indonesian. We are all largely shaped by our environments and it would’ve changed a huge part of Magnus if they’d rewritten him as originating from China. China in the 1600′s is wildly different to Indonesia in the 1600′s. (Actually, Indonesia and China are always wildly different.).

Magnus having a keris is perfect (thank you show!). The keris is a Javanese spiritual artifact symbolizing mystical status, peace and war. It is also a symbol of inner balance. The dagger promotes protection, prosperity, and harmony, bringing good luck in the hands of the right person. However, it can bring awful luck to unworthy carriers. The power inside a keris is alive and the owner must be in harmony with it… which is so very Magnus Bane.

Empus (or royal keris makers) forge the kerises. It is said that empus craft the keris in accordance with spiritual traditions. The power of the keris depends on the magic that the empus has bestowed upon it, so I wonder if Magnus was his own empus or if the keris was a inheritance. Early Indonesians wore their keris everyday, it had huge ceremonial significance, and eventually the keris spread from the island of Java to other parts of Indonesia and to nearby countries such
as Brunei, Malaysia, the southern Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. It should be noted that to Indonesians kerises and other sacred items cannot be sold. Buying a keris negates its power.

Often worn on the back, it was not only a symbol of peace and harmony it was also a effective weapon of war. The keris is characterized by the special form of its blade, its hilt, and its scabbard that symbolizes the power and status of the wearer:

Javanese boy in traditional attire. (Totally baby Magnus potential!).

The word pamor is a Javanese word. It refers not only to the patterns on keris blades but also to the raw material used to create it. The word means to mix, to become one, and indeed in the forging process a marrying of creativity and weaponry occurs. Life and death. Peace and war.

The keris is perfect for Magnus Bane. Magnus Bane is perfect for the keris.