Ardfinnan castle was built circa 1186 to guard the river crossing in Ardfinnan in South Tipperary. It is situated on the River Suir, seven miles west of Clonmel. It was constructed by the Earl of Morton for Prince John of England, who would eventually become King John of England in 1199. The castle was destroyed by Oliver Cromwell’s forces in 1649 and was partially restored and rebuilt in the 18th century and 19th centuries.
On the left of the castle is the site of an old abbey built by St. Finnan. The tower on the right is part of the old castle walls and was used as a banqueting hall. The bridge was built immediately after the castle was completed.