On this day in music history: May 28, 1983 - “Flashdance… What A Feeling” by Irene Cara hits #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 for 6 weeks, also topping the Club Play chart for 3 weeks on June 11, 1983, and peaking at #2 on the R&B singles chart on June 4, 1983. Written by Giorgio Moroder, Keith Forsey and Irene Cara, it is the biggest hit for the Bronx, NY singer, songwriter and actress. Having worked professionally as a singer and actress from the age of three, Irene Cara performs on Broadway, on the PBS series “The Electric Company”, as well as appearing in the film “Sparkle” and the mini series “Roots: The Next Generation”, before her big breakthrough comes in the Alan Parker directed film “Fame” in 1980. In 1982, Cara is asked to sing the theme song for a low budget film being produced by Don Simpson and Jerry Bruckheimer called “Flashdance”. She works with producer and songwriters Giorgio Moroder and Keith Forsey, best known for their work with Donna Summer. Also the films score composer, Moroder has written an instrumental that he has in mind to be used as the theme. While driving the recording studio, Cara and Forsey pass ideas back and forth about what the songs lyrical concept should be. Irene comes up with an idea expressing the feeling that comes over you while dancing, and Keith counters that by blurting out the lines “what a feeling” and “dancing for my life”, both of which become essential hooks to the song. By the time they reach the studio, the lyrics are completed, and Cara records her lead vocal. Released as the first single from the “Flashdance” soundtrack in late March of 1983, it quickly becomes a smash. Entering the Hot 100 at #77 on April 2, 1983, it climbs to the top of the chart eight weeks later. Like the film itself, “Flashdance… What A Feeling” becomes a pop cultural phenomenon, and an anthem to those striving to make their dreams come true. The song wins Irene Cara a Grammy Award for Best Pop Vocal Performance, Female in 1984, as well as winning a Golden Globe and the Academy Award for Best Original Song for Moroder, Forsey, and Cara. “Flashdance… What A Feeling” is certified Gold in the US by the RIAA.

The Ballad of Star Butterfly
Brian H. Kim & Patrick Stump
The Ballad of Star Butterfly

From Star vs. the Forces of Evil - Face the Music.


I was fortunate enough to get involved really early in the process for this musical number, and I wrote the first pass of the song to the episode’s black-and-white storyboards. @arythusa and @amelia-lorenz, who boarded this two-parter and wrote all the lyrics to the songs, are endless fountains of creativity. 

Lessons learned about Patrick Stump: 1) he is very, very funny; 2) he is a freaking pro in the studio. Before we recorded each chunk of the song, he would listen to my temp vocal and then slowly pace around the live room and work everything out in his head, make a few tweaks so that the melody would best suit his voice, run those changes by us, and then we’d be off. 

And then later, I brought in my good friend Michael Kohl (who has a particularly wonderful YouTube channel with his band Extra Lives) to re-record the guitar parts and add some sick solo lines.

This whole process, from top to bottom, has been my favorite of my whole SVTFOE experience thus far, and I hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed making it.

  • What she says: I'm fine.
  • What she means: I was the one who had it all. I was the master of my fate. I never needed anybody in my life. I learned the truth too late. I'll never shake away the pain.
  • I close my eyes but she's still there. I let her steal into my melancholy heart. It's more than I can bear. Now I know she'll never leave me. Even as she runs away. She will still torment me, calm me, hurt me. Move me, come what may.
  • Wasting in my lonely tower. Waiting by an open door. I'll fool myself she'll walk right in. And be with me for evermore.
Just Friends
Brian H. Kim & Nick Lachey
Just Friends

From Star vs. the Forces of Evil - Just Friends.

It is weird seeing animated choreography to a song you wrote. It’s like, they’re dancing, but someone had to draw them dancing, so a poor artist in South Korea had to listen to this ridiculous song a million times to get the timing right, and then that poor artist got into his/her car at the end of the day and spontaneously burst into “be juuuuuuuust frieeeeeeends” as he/she pulled out of the RDK parking lot, and was like DAMMIT.

Anyway. @zachsleepshere saw me in the Star offices one day, and was like “Brian, we’re bringing Love Sentence back. They’re gonna sing out of a toothbrush.” 


“You know, those toothbrushes that have songs coming out of them so kids will brush their teeth.” 

“Right …. wait, what?”


I wish I had a video of Nick Lachey singing this in the studio. That guy’s fun.

Best lyrics ever courtesy of @zachsleepshere and @brettvaron!

Dear Evan Hansen Soundtrack Summarized
  • Anybody Have A Map: Wait how do you parent
  • Waving Through A Window: Tears and loneliness
  • For Forever: If I had friends
  • Sincerely Me: We're not gay we swear
  • Requiem: You were a douche and I'm happy you're dead
  • If I Could Tell Her: I said it but he said it
  • Disappear: I'm lonely so I'm gonna make a foundation dedicated to some dead kid
  • You Will Be Found: If you weren't crying you are now
  • To Break In A Glove: I got a new dad with the power of shaving cream
  • Only Us: Quit focusing on my dead brother and kiss me
  • Good For You: Screw you for being happy
  • Words Fail: Well I done messed up
  • So Big/So Small: I wasn't there for you before but I'm here now so love me!!!
  • Finale: The room is flooded with tears and that's okay