song sampler


On this day in music history: November 3, 1984 - “I Feel For You” by Chaka Khan hits #1 on the Billboard R&B singles chart for 3 weeks, also peaking at #3 on the Hot 100 on November 24, 1984. Written by Prince, it is the third solo chart topper and biggest hit for the legendary R&B vocalist. Originally recorded by Prince in 1979, it is the first single from Khan’s fifth album. Producer Arif Mardin uses musicians such as Reggie Griffin (bass) David Frank of The System (keyboards and guitar), Stevie Wonder (harmonica), and Grandmaster Melle Mel (rap) on the track. The stuttering intro heard on the front of the record was initially a mistake, when the producer is “flying in” Melle Mel’s sampled vocals on to the beginning of the multi-track master tape. When he accidentally hits repeat on the digital sampler, the songs trademark “Chaka–Chaka–Chaka–Chaka Khan. Chaka Khan. Chaka Khan” comes out of the studio monitors. Mardin likes it so much, that he’ll leave it as it is. Khan initially is not fond of the rap on the intro, being embarrassed by hearing her own name repeated throughout. Mardin reassures her that it is a key element of the song (telling Chaka, “don’t worry my dear, it will be a hit.”), and it remains on the finished track. Prince himself was supposed to play on the record but scheduling conflicts prevent him from participating in the sessions. At the time of its release, the song is one of the most expensive singles ever recorded, due to the complexity of the production, and time spent in the studio working on the basic track. The Hip Hop flavored music video featuring dancers Adolfo “Shabba-Doo” Quinones and Michael “Boogaloo Shrimp” Chambers (“Breakin’) also play an important role in the records’ huge success. Chaka Khan’s version of "I Feel For You” wins two Grammy Awards including Best R&B Vocal Performance, Female, and Best R&B Song in 1985. “I Feel For You” is certified Gold in the US by the RIAA.


Panic! At The Disco, Vices and Virtues Sampler

Songs in order:

1. The Ballad of Mona Lisa
2. Let’s Kill Tonight
3. Hurricane
4. Memories
5. Trade Mistakes
6. Ready to Go (Get Me Out of My Mind…)
7. Always
8. The Calendar
9. Sarah Smiles
10. Nearly Witches (Ever Since We Met…)
11. Stall Me [Bonus Track]
12. Oh Glory (Demo) [Bonus Track]

I got exposed to the wonderful Annakarina through a Driftwood Records sampler (awesome record label, check it out!) as they were the artist of the first song on that sampler. Anyway, they rock and they play awesome music and you should totally check them out if you like screamo, they have some really great atmosphere and emotion going, i’d definitely download their albums right now if I were you. What are you waiting for!


The Vamps - Wake Up (10 song Album Sampler)