sixth man award


David Tennant down through the years at the TV Choice Awards
(alternate title: lots of photos of David holding that 3-starred trophy)

  • 2006 - David and Billie won the Best Actor and Best Actress Categories and  Doctor Who won “Best Loved Drama”
  • 2007 - David won “Best Actor” and  Doctor Who won “Best Loved Drama” 
  • 2008 - David (who couldn’t attend due to Hamlet) won “Best Actor”, Catherine Tate won “Best Actress”, and Doctor Who won “Best Loved Drama”
  • 2011 - David won “Best Actor” for Single Father
  • 2013 - David won “Best Actor” and Broadchurch won “Best New Drama”. David was also called to the stage (and photo session) for the acceptance of the “Outstanding Contribution to TV” award for Doctor Who
  • 2015 - David won “Best Actor” and Broadchurch won “Best Drama Series”

And the NBA Sixth Man Award goes to… Lamar Odom 

Despite starting in 35 games this season, Lakers forward Lamar Odom won the 29th Sixth Man of the Year Award as the league’s top reserve.

Sixth Man Award Fact:

Legendary Boston Celtics coach Red Auerbach is often credited throughout basketball with creating the sixth man.

An annual award given since the 1982 NBA season.

A panel of sportswriters and broadcasters from throughout the United States and Canada votes on the recipient.

To be eligible for the award, a player must come off the bench in more games than he starts. (Lamar started 35 games and came off the bench in 47 games.

Notable recipients include, Kevin McHale (twice), Bill Walton, Detlef Schrempf (twice), Cliff Robinson, Dell Curry, Toni Kukoc, John Starks, Danny Manning, Antawn Jamison, Ben Gordon, Mike Miller, Manu Ginobili, Jason Terry, and Jamal Crawford.

The most famous sixth man, however, was John Havlicek, who never won the award (retired in 1978) but revolutionized the role during his 16-year career.

Only four players have won the Sixth Man Award and the NBA title in the same season. The last player to do so was Toni Kukoc in 1995-96.