The winter of 1501-02 has been long and boring. Most evenings were spent huddled indoors trying to find some form of amusement, though the nights were interminable and entertainment was hard to come by. Everyone at Ludlow is very much looking forward to the coming spring.
Originally known as Sheen, it was renamed in 1500 in honor of Henry VII’s earldom of Richmond. The palace was rebuilt in 1501 after a fire destroyed the previous construction in 1497. The land on which the new palace was built has seen much history since 1299 when it was first used as a royal residence, including the births and deaths of several Kings of England. Even the famed Geoffrey Chaucer was a yeoman of the palace in 1368. Princess Mary Rose was born here in 1496 and celebrations for the nuptials of Prince Arthur were held at the palace just as construction was completed.
The favorite residence of the royal family, it has witnessed their triumphs and tribulations. With it’s new iteration it has been transformed into a palace of modern luxuries and architecture.