Over here the beautiful minarets of the Wazir Khan Mosque can be seen soaring above the hustle and bustle of one of Lahore’s oldest Bazaars the “Kashmiri Bazaar”. The Wazir Khan Mosque is actually located deep in the middle of old Lahore it can be an arduous task for someone who is not that fond of walking through congested streets but its like best thing ever for the adventurous type
The Mughal Emperors held their ‘wet-nurses’ in great esteem, and Shah Jahan’s love and respect for Zeb-un-Nisa (d. 1672), or his Dai Anga (‘wet-nurse’ in Urdu), was no exception. She was also the wife of a courtier under Jahangir and her garden-tomb can be accessed from the Gulabi Bagh Gateway on the GT Road.
This square brick structure houses Dai Anga (wife of Mughal magistrate of Bikaneer) and her daughter Shahzadi Sultan Begum, whose husband Mirza Sultan Beg built the Gulabi Bagh Gateway. In Naulakha (near the Lahore Railway Station), Dai Anga built a beautiful mosque which employs elaborate tile mosaic decoration.
Traversing the intervening stretch of corridor-like space since the surrounding garden area has been occupied by various railway structures—you arrive at the rather squat-looking tomb placed on a raised plinth. The mausoleum is dominated by a low-pitched dome placed on a high neck or drum, while its corners are accented through the employment of four square pavilion-like kiosks, carrying projecting chajjas (eaves) and cupolas.
Although shorn of most of its ornamentation, the original kashi-kari (tile mosaic) can be noticed on the parapet, which points towards the quality and kind of tile mosaic that in all likelihood once covered the entire facade.
The mausoleum comprises a central tomb chamber with eight rooms around it. Internally, the surface was embellished with fine fresco, portions of which are extant in the squinches above the projecting, beehive-like decorative muqarnas, along with a starlet dome treatment. The base of the squinches is encircled with inscriptional panels from the Holy Quran, rendered in elegant calligraphy by Muhammad Saleh. Inscriptions at the site reveal that the mausoleum was constructed in 1671.
The central sepulchral chamber and surrounding rooms are built upon a raised plinth consisting of subterranean chambers, in which the burials took place. Today, the original cenotaphs made of marble are no longer in existence, and the underground chambers are also inaccessible.