Project by kwgtms turns a Tumblr blog into an animation medium, a trippy yet innocent anime of a walking girl through morphing locations, dictated by the speed of the scroll wheel - video embedded below:

[Google Translate:]

And go one step by sampling the previous picture,
things will disappear, and newly introduced,
it is an animation that also one step proceed.
Rapidly screen by the sampling we will rough. Since roughness can not stomach leave,
or try to put things similar, you can try to place a new one, you can try to stand,
and to deal at that time that time, we will proceed rapidly.
That you want to go to here of direction, that it is not he wanted to,
and I make while interacting it with operation of the computer.

You can try out yukisusumisariyuki here


Spotlight: Megillat Esther

Purim begins with the Fast of Esther at sundown this evening. The ceremony begins with the reading of the Megillah, or Scroll of Esther. Here we present the 2007 facsimile of an 18th-century megillah held by the Gross Family of Israel (one of the finest collections of Judaica in the world). The facsimile was produced by Facsimile Editions of London in an edition of 295 copies. This company is well known for producing state-of-the-art facsimiles of Hebrew illuminated manuscripts. This was their first attempt at printing a reproduction directly onto sheepskin parchment, rather than the usual method of having paper milled to the weight and texture of parchment to create a simulation. The original scroll case was also carefully reproduced by hand in sterling silver.

This particular scroll includes miniatures produced by an anonymous artist of virtually every scene of the story. A curious aspect of this megillah is that the text was written after the illuminations were completed; a reversal of the common practice.

Find this facsimile in the catalog here.



Book/Not Book

This week we showcase a new acquisition: Peter and Donna Thomas‘s presentation of Naomi Shihab Nye‘s poem Sometimes I Pretend, produced with rainbow-roll printed wood type and paper-pulp printed images on handmade paper in an edition of 35 copies signed by the artists. The work is presented as a double-sided scroll housed in a spring-loaded, retractable scroll box, with an unsharpened, No.2 Ticonderoga Beginners pencil as a dowel.

If you’re like some of my students, you might find it difficult to accept a scroll as a legitimate book. It is, after all, just a single sheet of paper rolled up into a box. So, there’s the question: is this work really a book, or just a scroll-work, a double-sided poetry broadside, or clever piece of kinetic literature?

Book/Not Book? Please reblog with your response.

See more posts from our Book/Not Book series.


FROM EARTH TO SPACE: Where space begins and Earth’s atmosphere starts to fade away