Johann Daniel Mylius - Four Grades of Fire, “Philosophia Reformata”, 1622.

Four women with Solar heads sit at a table. In the Sky above are two Winds blowing towards four Flaming flasks set above the Zodiac with its Signs. Three of the women seated at the table point to their heads. In front of them on the table are the Symbols of Aries the Ram, Scorpio the Scorpion and Libra the Scales. The other woman points to her Symbol Capricorn the Goat.

Zodiac signs in Greek mythology
  • Aries:Golden Ram. Your dead skin became the Golden Fleece Jason and the Argonauts looked for.
  • Taurus:Zeus. You became a bull to kidnap Europa. You turned Io into a cow to hide her from Hera.
  • Gemini:Castor and Pollux. Pollux was the immortal son of Zeus who would not be separated from his mortal brother Castor. Zeus placed you in the heavens together forever.
  • Cancer:Crab. You bit Hercules in the foot and Hera was pleased. She placed you among the stars as a reward.
  • Leo:Nemean Lion. You were impervious to any weapons, yet Hercules still killed you. Zeus was impressed and commemorated it in the sky.
  • Virgo:Demeter. You are the goddess of agriculture. You are not a virgin, you have a daughter.
  • Libra:Scales. Virgo could also be the goddess Justitia, then you are her scales.
  • Scorpio:Scorpion. You were sent by the gods to kill Orion. Even in the sky he runs when you appear.
  • Sagittarius:Centaur. It is unclear who you are. Some say Chiron, who taught Achilles the lyre and helped raise Asclepius.
  • Capricorn:Amaltheia. You suckled Zeus when he was in danger from his own father. Your horn became the Horn of Plenty.
  • Aquarius:Ganymede. You served drinks on Olympus. You were Zeus' male lover.
  • Pisces:Aphrodite and Eros. You changed into fishes to escape the monster Typhon.

“​The constellation is Libra, the scales or balance, and as a present-day zodiac sign it rules from September 23 to October 22. One explanation of its name is that it rises at the time of the autumnal equinox, when the day and the night are of equal length, a balance being a device for determining equivalents. A more questionable interpretation is that it appeared at harvest time, when farmers were weighing their produce for marketing purposes. But more likely it had another origin. In Akkadian — an ancient Semitic language spoken by, among others, the Assyrians — this constellation was called zibanitu, which means “the claws of the Scorpion,” because it rose before the constellation of the Scorpion and was thought to be the front part of it. But zibanitu could also mean a weighing scales — a scorpion held upside down is similar in shape to the ancient form of this device. The constellation is now known only as Libra, a Latin word meaning “scales or balance.” It is usually pictured as — guess what — a scales or balance, consisting of a crossbar suspended from a central arm or chain, with a pan hanging from each end of the crossbar. It’s the only zodiac sign that isn’t an animal or a person, although it’s frequently held by a young woman, often identified as Astraea, the daughter of Zeus and Themis. Both Themis and Astraea were goddesses of justice, and Astraea is also known as the constellation Virgo, the virgin. Thus, in the Virgo-Libra configuration, we see a young woman holding a double-armed scales and identified with Justice.”

Margaret Atwood, from Payback (x)

The signs as poor descriptions

Aires: air
Taurus: the bull thing
Gemini: spirit maybe
Cancer: not the disease but the crab guy
Leo: lion
Virgo: virgin
Libra: scale
Scorpio: scorpion
Sagittarius: ???
Capricorn: goat man
Aquarius: an entire aquarium
Pisces: the ying yang fish from avatar

fight-me-punk  asked:

i had a dream abt the new sign or whatever, and you know how they all have animals or whatever like goats, or bulls, or crabs??? well i dreamt that the new signs "animal" was just nacho. not even like, plural nachos, just a singular nacho. it was so fuckin weird

Oh my lord! Imagine that… we’ve got rams, bulls, twins, crabs, lions, maidens, scales, scorpions, a single nacho, centaurs, water goats, and fish.

And like imagine it’s glyph is like…