rhythmic gymnastics world championships


So Laura placed 8th AA at the World Championships. THIS IS SO BIG FOR AMERICAN RHYTHMIC GYMNASTICS.

Hold on let me put that in perspective for you:
-In 2014, Kerber placed 19th at Worlds.
-In 2013, Kerber placed 22nd & Sereda placed 24th at Worlds.
-At the 2012 Olympics, Zetlin placed 21st in qualifications and did not qualify to finals.
-In 2011, 3 American athletes placed 35th, 52nd and 59th, missing finals.
-In 2010, Zetlin placed 23rd.
-In 2009, Zetlin placed 33rd and Gehringer placed 41st, missing finals.
-In 2008, the USA did not qualify any rhythmic athletes to the Olympics.

So imagine that a country like Belgium or Mexico, placed a gymnast in EIGHTH PLACE AA at Artistic Worlds! Or a team that qualified no one in 2008, could have a girl in the Top 10 now. It’s incredible; unimaginable, really.


Watch her Ribbon, Hoop (my fave), Clubs (where she placed 7th in EF) & Ball routines!  


Park & Suites Arena 

Park&Suites Arena (also known as the ARENA) is an indoor arena located in the Montpellier suburb, in the south of France that opened in September 2010. It has a seating capacity of 14,000 spectators, with 9,000 for sporting events.[1] It will host the European matches of Montpellier Agglomération Handball and the Open Sud de France tennis tournament. It also hosted the XXXI World Rhythmic Gymnastics Championships which served as a qualification process for the 2012 Summer Olympic Games. The arena will host the 2015 European Artistic Gymnastics Championships during April 13–19, 2015.

Want to see more Architecture posts? Follow Pretty Architecture

Images from: visio-technic


World Rhythmic Gymnastics All Around Champions (2001-2013)

2001: 1st- Tamara Yerofeeva (Ukraine), 2nd- Simona Peycheva (Bulgaria), 3rd- Anna Bessonova (Ukraine)

2003: 1st- Alina Kabaeva (Russia), 2nd- Anna Bessonova (Ukraine), 3rd- Irina Tchachina (Russia)

2005: 1st- Olga Kapranova (Russia), 2nd- Anna Bessonova (Ukraine), 3rd- Irina Tchachina (Russia)

2007: 1st- Anna Bessonova (Ukraine), 2nd- Vera Sessina (Russia), 3rd- Olga Kapranova (Russia)

2009: 1st- Yevgeniya Kanayeva (Russia), 2nd- Daria Kondakova (Russia), 3rd- Anna Bessonova (Ukraine)

2010: 1st- Yevgeniya Kanayeva (Russia), 2nd- Daria Kondakova (Russia), 3rd- Melitina Staniouta (Belarus)

2011: 1st- Yevgeniya Kanayeva (Russia), 2nd- Daria Kondakova (Russia), 3rd- Aliya Garayeva (Azerbaijan)

2013: 1st- Yana Kudryavtseva (Russia), 2nd- Ganna Rizatdinova (Ukraine), 3rd- Melitina Staniouta (Belarus)