record store day release

gerardway: Look at how rad this is! A picture disc, a mix-tape comic, a poster. Definitely one of the coolest things I’ve been involved with. Available 4/22/17

Press release:
Gerard Way: “Into The Cave We Wander” / “Pogi’s Cavern”; 12” Picture Disc in Clear Vinyl Sleeve. Limited to 5,000.
Two new recordings from Gerard Way have been written to go with the comic book series CAVE CARSON HAS A CYBERNETIC EYE from DC’s Young Animal pop-up imprint. The 12” picture disc comes in a clear vinyl sleeve and includes the following: a 32-page comic featuring an all-new three-page story by Gerard Way and Michael Allred; previews of four DC’s Young Animal comics—DOOM PATROL, SHADE, THE CHANGING GIRL, CAVE CARSON HAS A CYBERNETIC EYE and MOTHER PANIC; and an 11”x 17” poster featuring characters from each of the series, drawn by Nick Derington. The songs were written and recorded with Ray Toro and produced by Doug McKean, Ray Toro and Gerard Way.
#RSD #RSD2017 #dccomics#dcyounganimal #cavecarson #wbr#warnerbrosrecords

Saturn Song
Beach House
Saturn Song

Just heard this on NPR.  One of 14 songs by a slew of artists on a super cool upcoming Record Store Day release called Space Project.  Each song incorporates unique space sounds recorded from the Voyager 1 and Voyager 2 space probes.

The ‘sounds’ recorded by the Voyager probes aren’t sounds in the conventional sense; rather, they are electromagnetic radiation fluctuations in the magnetosphere of the planets, moons, and large asteroids the Voyager probes traveled near. Each celestial body is composed of different elements, has its own size and mass, and therefore sounds unique.

There are seven pairs of songs about different celestial bodies—see the breakdown below.


A Porcelain Raft: “Giove”
B The Antlers: “Jupiter”


A Mutual Benefit: “Terraform” 
B Anna Meredith: “Miranda”


A The Spiritualized Mississippi Space Program: “Always Together With You (The Bridge Song)”
B The Holydrug Couple: “Amphitrites Lost” 


A Youth Lagoon: “Worms”
B Blues Control: “Blues Danube”


A Beach House: “Saturn Song”
B Zomes: “Moonlet”


A Absolutely Free: “EARTH I”
B Jesu: “Song of Earth”


A Benoit & Sergio: “Long Neglected Words”
B Larry Gus: “Sphere of Io (For Georg Cantor)”

External image


On this day in music history: April 8, 1977 - “The Clash”, the debut album by The Clash is released. Produced by Mickey Foote, it is recorded at CBS Studios in London and National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield, UK from February 10 - 27, 1977. The self-titled debut release by the iconic British punk band is recorded in just two and half weeks, at a cost of only £4000 ($6698.40 USD currently). Many of the songs are written while The Clash are living in a council flat in NW London being rented by Mick Jones’ grandmother. The album quickly establish the band in their home country and earn them a loyal fan base, featuring several songs that become standards in the bands repertoire including “White Riot”, “Career Opportunities”, “Remote Control”, and “I’m So Bored With The USA”. In spite of its UK and European success, CBS Records initially passes on the releasing the album in the US, calling it “un-commercial” and “not radio friendly”. It still finds a sizable audience in the United States when record stores begin importing UK copies of the album, selling an impressive 100,000 copies before it is picked up for domestic release by Epic Records in July of 1979, after the release of their second album “Give ‘Em Enough Rope”. However, the US version differs from its UK counterpart, replacing the tracks “Deny”, “Cheat”, “Protex Blue”, “48 Hours”, and “White Riot (original version)”, with “Clash City Rockers”, “Complete Control”, “White Riot” (re-recorded version), “(White Man) In Hammersmith Palais”, “I Fought the Law”, and “Jail Guitar Doors”. The initial US pressing also comes packaged with a bonus 7" single featuring the tracks “Groovy Times” and “Gates Of The West”. The album is remastered and reissued on CD in 1999, and on 180 gram vinyl. Another vinyl reissue is released in 2010 that includes the bonus 7". A numbered limited edition version pressed on split blue and white vinyl is released in the US for Black Friday Record Store Day in November of 2015. “The Clash” peaks at number twelve on the UK album chart, number one hundred twenty six on the Billboard Top 200, and is certified Gold in the US by the RIAA.


On this day in music history: April 8, 1975 - “Toys In The Attic”, the third album by Aerosmith is released. Produced by Jack Douglas, it is recorded at The Record Plant in New York City from January - March 1975. After working with producer Jack Douglas (Cheap Trick, John Lennon) on their previous album “Get Your Wings”, they return to the studio with him in the Winter of 1975 to record the follow up. The end result is the Boston based rock bands commercial breakthrough (and highest selling studio album) in the US, spinning off three singles including “Sweet Emotion” (#36 Pop) and “Walk This Way” (#10 Pop). “Walk” is initially issued as a single in August 1975 and does not chart. It is re-released in November 1976 (following the successful “Rocks” album) and becomes their first top ten hit. Regarded as one of the landmark rock albums of the 70’s, the title track, “You See Me Crying” and “Big Ten Inch Record” also become fan favorites as well. Remastered and reissued on CD in 1993, the album is also released briefly as a single layer SACD in 2003. “Toys” is also reissued on vinyl 1997 by Simply Vinyl, and again in 2013 by Music On Vinyl and Sony Music. The US Sony copies are initially released in a numbered limited edition for Record Store Day in April of 2013, with present day copies not being stamped with an individual number. “Toys In The Attic” peaks at number eleven on the Billboard Top 200, and is certified 8x Platinum in the US by the RIAA.


On this day in music history: April 14, 1988 - “It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back”, the second album by Public Enemy is released. Produced by The Bomb Squad (Hank Shocklee, Carl Ryder (aka “Chuck D.”) and Eric “Vietnam” Sadler), it is recorded at Chung King House Of Metal, Greene Street Studios in New York City, and Sabella Studios in Long Island, NY from Mid - Late 1987. Following up their acclaimed debut “Yo! Bum Rush The Show”, the Long Island, NY based rap group looks to surpass their previous effort, wanting to capture on record the same energy generated by their live performances. Made up of tracks packed densely with samples, and combined with powerful pro-black, politically and socially conscious lyrics delivered by Chuck D. and Flavor Flav (often providing a stream of conscious lyrical counterpoint), the finished album is unlike anything heard before in Hip Hop. It makes a major impact upon its release not only within the rap music community, but also with the mainstream rock press who praise it not only as a watershed release for the genre, but as one of the best and most important albums of the era. It spins off five singles including “Don’t Believe The Hype” (#18 R&B), “Bring The Noise” (#56 R&B), and “Night Of The Living Baseheads” (#62 R&B). The album is reissued as a limited edition release on vinyl for Record Store Day on April 19, 2014, marking the first time the landmark rap album has been available on vinyl in more than a decade. “It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back” spends one week at number one on the Billboard R&B album chart, peaking at number forty two on the Top 200, and is certified Platinum in the US by the RIAA.


Happy Transgender Dysphoria Blues release day :)

Laura Jane Grace performing “Two Coffins”

“I wrote this song for you Evelyn.”

From left to right we have Pulp’s young and iconic line up of Russell Senior, Candida Doyle, Jarvis Cocker, Steve Mackey, and Nick Banks featured on the front side of the download postcard that came with the 2015 Record Store Day re-release of Pulp’s Separations.