preview guide

Emoji Donuts


Yields 5-6 donuts

The things you’ll need

Ingredients
Dough
  • ¾ cup warm milk
  • 1 packet active dry yeast
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 ½ cups all purpose flour
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 egg yolks
  • ½ vanilla bean
Filling
  • 1 box vanilla pudding mix
  • 2 cups cold milk
Icing
  • Powdered sugar
  • Lemon juice
  • Yellow food coloring
Equipment
  • Large mixing bowl
  • Medium mixing bowl
  • Hand mixer
  • Rubber spatula
  • Whisk
  • Dry pastry brush
  • Rolling pin
  • Cookie cutter ring
  • Candy thermometer
  • Spider
  • Baking sheet lined with paper towels
  • Skewers
  • Decorating bag fitted with a #2A tip
  • Black and red royal icing in decorating bags fitted with #2 tips
  • Small paintbrush
  • Pink luster dust
  • Frying oil

Let’s get started!

  1. In a small bowl, mix warm milk, yeast and sugar and allow to sit for 10 minutes to activate.
  2. In a large bowl, combine yeast mixture, egg yolks, butter and almond extract. Mix until well combined.
  3. Slowly mix in flour, and then add the salt half way through adding the flour.
  4. Once all the flour is mixed in, knead for a few minutes.
  5. Place dough into a greased bowl and allow to sit until it has doubled in size.
  6. Place rested dough into a floured surface and carefully form it into a flat disc.
  7. Use a ring cookie cutter to cut out 5 or 6 donuts. Cover the donuts with a towel adn let them rest about 10 minutes.
  8. Heat oil to 350ºF, keeping track of the temperature with a candy thermometer.
  9. When the donuts have sest for about 10 to 15 minutes, place them in the hot oil.
  10. Fry a few minutes on each side and then use a spider to place each donut onto a baking sheet lined with paper towel. Allow to cool.
  11. Combine pudding mix with 2 cups of colk milk and mix until well combined. Use a #2A tip to fill donuts with vanilla cream.

Time to decorate!

  1. Combine powdered sugar and lemon juice and whisk until desired consistency. Use food coloring to dye the icing yellow.
  2. Pipe Emoji faces onto each donut using red and black royal icing.
4

new theme: olivia (preview | install | customization guide)

I’m so excited to release this!!! it is very light on the features—you can change the colours and font, and that’s about it. there’s lots of padding and whitespace, and the font size is deliberately big. everything about this is big and dramatic. posts are 700px wide. it’s one column. it’s got diamonds. I hope you like it.

2
Theme #12 by raiidens
A lot of people were confusing the page theme I made for the blog theme and I saw some interest for a blog theme in this style so I decided to make it. Hope you like it!~
Static preview + install | Customization guide
Features:
  • 400px or 250px posts
  • About, FAQ, links, blogroll tabs
  • Customizable colours, images, fonts
    • Character image scales down to a height of 200px
  • Infinite scrolling (optional)
  • Monochrome posts (optional)
  • Removable captions

Please:
  • Leave the credit or move it somewhere else visible
  • Edit as much as you like
  • Like/reblog if you’re using!
TV Guidance Counselor Episode 220: Anne Beatts

Today Ken welcomes writer/producer Anne Beatts (SNL, Square Pegs, A Different World)

Ken and Anne discuss the sadness of rain soaked inaugurations, golden showers, writing TV ads in London, Canada, National Lampoon, Freddy the Pig, The New Yorker, being suspended from the McGill Daily, Queen for a Day, Quiz Shows, aluminium extrusions, Michael O'Donohue, Mad Men, how cigarettes funded National Lampoon, Saturday Night Live, “no flies around the head..”, Walter Crankcase, The Californians, when Lorne Michaels left SNL, SCTV, Martin Short, Nathan Thurme, Dobie Gillis, Square Pegs, The Waitresses, dealing with network notes, Tracy Nelson, Sarah Jessica Parker, Devo, getting killed by Little House on the Prairie, beverage signals, Trojan Horses, Mainway Industries Unsafe Christmas Toys, Ken’s favorite SNL sketch, A Different World, creating Dwayne Wayne and Whitley, Peter Bonerz, The Elvira Show, Julie Brown, appreciating tween media, Bill Murray, Al Franken, why people on TV can’t smoke pot, The Keith Moon deposit, staging a “piss in”, network censors, why you can’t say tits on TV, Square Pegs in the TV Guide Fall Preview of 82, and being robbed of the Rolling Stone cover photo due to your own boasting.

Anne has a fascinating life story and has been a key part of so many amazing moments in modern comedy.

It was an absolute honor for Ken to get to speak with her

Season 6 General Index Post

6A Part 1 - 6A Part 2 - 6A Part 3 - 6B Part 1 - 6B Part 2 - 6B Part 3 - 6B Part 4 - 6B Part 5 - Conventions - Public Events

Note:  Because of a quark of Tumblr’s code that appears to limit the number of links that you can place in a single post this post has now been broken into several parts.

*This post is organized with the most recent item first.

Season Press Release (x)

Season Marketing Images (x, x)

Official Season Promos

Blooper Reel (x)

Disney Promotional Material

Pop Culture References

A&E Interviews

Jane Espenson Interviews

Cast Interviews

General Press

Regular Cast Departures

Ginnifer Goodwin, Josh Dallas, Jared Gilmore, Emilie de Ravin, and Rebecca Mader

Ginnifer Goodwin

Jennifer Morrison

Emilie de Ravin

Rebecca Mader


Other Season Press Index Posts:

Season 1: General Index Post - 1A Episode Index Post - 1B Episode Index Post
Season 2: General Index Post - 2A Episode Index Post - 2B Episode Index Post   - Conventions
Season 3: General Index Post - 3A Episode Index Post - 3B Episode Index Post - Wonderland
Season 4: General Index Post - 4A Part 1 - 4A Part 2 - 4B Part 1 - 4B Part 2
Season 5: General Index Post - 5A Part 1 - 5A Part 2 - 5B Part 1 - 5B Part 2 - Conventions
Season 6: 6A Part 1 - 6A Part 2 - 6A Part 3 - 6B Part 1 - 6B Part 2 - 6B Part 3 - 6B Part 4 - 6B Part 5 - Conventions - Public Events
Season 7: General Index Post - 7A Part 1 - 7A Part 2 - Conventions - Public Events

BOOTLEG GIVE AWAY

I recently reached 100 followers, which is amazing! So as a thank you, I have decided to do a bootleg giveaway of my audio masters! All of my masters have hardly been circulated, so you will be getting something that not many people have. Here is a list of my personal audio masters:

Kristin Chenoweth in Louisville, KY 2/12/14

This was Kristin’s first time ever visiting Louisville and she does not disappoint. The show includes “Maybe This Time”, “Taylor the Latte Boy”, “Fathers and Daughters”, “Dance Ten, Looks Three”, “Popular (Switching between English, Japanese, and German)”, “For Good”, “Bring Him Home”, “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again”, “When She Loved Me”, “I Was Here”, “I Will Always Love You”, and many more. Not to mention Kristin’s very own brand of comedy that never disappoints!
Sister Act Tour in Louisville, KY 1/8/14 (OPENING NIGHT)

Ta'rea Campbell, Lynne Wintersteller (t/r Mother Superior), Melvin Abston, Florrie Bagel, Charles Barksdale, Diane J. Findlay, Chester Gregory, Ashley Moniz Richard Pruitt. Amazing recording of opening night in Louisville, KY! Opening night was supposed to be the 7th but due to weather opening night was pushed back a day, making this show opening night. The audience was extremely invested in the show and the cast was on fire! The recording is crystal clear and includes the pre-show announcements as well as the curtain call and the “Spread the Love Around/Raise Your Voice” encore!

Book of Mormon 1st National Tour in Louisville, KY 5/27/14 (OPENING NIGHT)

Mark Evans, Christopher O'Neill, Stanley Wayne Mathis, Alexandra Ncube, Grey Henson, Corey Jones, Jeffery David Sears, Kelechi Ezie. Amazing recording of the show’s Kentucky debut. This was the first performance of the show in Kentucky EVER. The audience loved the show as did I. Everyone is amazing. The show is amazing. I have no words. I will be going to see it at least once more before it leaves. 

Book of Mormon 1st National Tour in Louisville, KY 6/1/14 Matinee

Mark Evans, Christopher O'Neill, Stanley Wayne Mathis, Alexandra Ncube, Grey Henson, Corey Jones, Jeffery David Sears, Kelechi Ezie. Another amazing recording of this show during it’s premiere Louisville engagement. Recorded from the second row.

Book of Mormon 1st National Tour in Louisville, KY 6/1/14 Evening

Mark Evans, Christopher O'Neill, Stanley Wayne Mathis, Alexandra Ncube, Grey Henson, Corey Jones, Jeffery David Sears, Kelechi Ezie. Amazing recording of the show’s last week 1 performance in Louisville. The cast was extremely tired but watching the show you never would have known! Truly wonderful performers. Recorded from the first row.

Book of Mormon 1st National Tour in Louisville, KY 6/8/14 Matinee

Mark Evans, Christopher O'Neill, Stanley Wayne Mathis, Alexandra Ncube, Grey Henson, Corey Jones, Jeffery David Sears, Kelechi Ezie. Wonderful audio of the show’s final Matinee in Louisville. The crowd loved it. Recorded from the first row so the audio is crystal clear.

Pippin on Broadway 9/21/14 

Kyle Dean Massey, Carly Hughes, Andrea Martin, John Dossett, Charlotte d’Amboise, Rachel Bay Jones, Eli Tokash, Mike Schwitter, etc. This was such an amazing show! This was Carly’s 4th as the Leading Player and Andrea’s final broadway performance!

If/Then on Broadway 9/13/14 

Idina Menzel, LaChanze, Curtis Holbrook (t/r Lucas), Jason Tam, Stephanie Klemons (u/s Anne), Jerry Dixon, James Snyder, Tamika Lawrence, Ryann Redmond. Great crystal clear audio! Recorded from the second row! Note: Incomplete. Due to technical problems I only recorded the first 26 minutes of act two.

On the Town on Broadway 9/20/14 (FIRST BROADWAY PREVIEW)

Tony Yazbeck, Jay Armstrong Johnson, Clive Alves, Megan Fairchild, Alysha Umphress, Elizabeth Stanley, Jackie Hoffman, Michael Rupert,  Allison Guinn, Phillip Boykin. Amazing audio of the very first preview of this fabulous new production. The show went super smoothly and was very stable for a first preview. Includes a great little ad lib by Jackie referencing it being the first preview.

A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder on Broadway 9/19/14

Bryce Pinkham, Jefferson Mays, Lisa O'Hare, Lauren Worsham, Jane Carr. Great recording of this hilarious show. Crystal clear audio! The cast was having a great time and it shows! 

54 Below Sings Elaine Stritch 9/12/14 

Christine Ebersole, Beth Leavel, Harriet Harris, Jeremy Benton, Hunter Ryan Herdlicka, Lindsie VanWinkle, Edward Hibbert, Paul Iacono, Sara Jean Ford, Shawna Hamic. Director Eric Ulloa and Music Director John McDaniel bring you an all star Broadway cast singing the songs that made Stritch famous and telling the stories that made her infamous. So, come join us for an evening of great music and memories.

Jason Alexander in Louisville, KY with the Louisville Orchestra 9/26/14

Jason Alexander is amazing! This was his first time playing Louisville and he blew the roof off the building. Known for his Seinfeld fame, not many know what a great powerhouse he is. The first part is just the orchestra playing various selections. In the second part Jason comes out to do his set. This includes “Magic to Do”/“Corner of the Sky”, “Only the Good Die Young”, “Ring Them Bells”, a Merrily We Roll Along Medley, and many more. Great sound and an amazing show!

A Christmas Story: The Musical Non Equity Tour in Owensboro, KY on 11/14/14

Evan Gray, Colton Maurer, Chris Carsten, Christopher Swan, Susannah Jones, Cal Alexander, Avital Asuleen. Great recording of the opening night of this new tour of this AMAZING SHOW! Amazing cast that was full of energy for their opening night. Stand outs (for me) included Colton Maurer, Christopher Swan, and Susannah Jones. Note: There was a technical difficulty with the set causing the show to halt for about 30 seconds, and resulting in a laugh from the audience. The actors restarted the scene. 

Matthew Morrison in Louisville, KY with the Louisville Orchestra 11/15/14

Great recording of Matthew’s Louisville Pops concert! Like the Jason Alexander concert, the first part is just the orchestra. The second part is Matthew Morrison. He sang “It Don’t Mean a Thing, If You Ain’t Got That Swing”, “The Lady is a Tramp”, “Sway”, “Send In the Clowns”, “Singin’ in the Rain” and many more. Great sound throughout! 

Newsies First National Tour Closing Night in Louisville, KY 11/23/14

Dan Deluca, Steve BlanchardStephanie Styles, Angela Grovey, Jacob Kemp, Zachary Style, Anthony Rosenthal, Mark Aldrich, Evan Autio, Bill Bathman, Stephen Hernandez (u/s Ensemble), John E. Brandy, Josh Assor (u/s Albert/Scab)Andrew Wilson (u/s Henry). This show was so amazing! This was my first time seeing Newsies all the way through, and it did not disappoint! Everyone was giving it their all and killing it. The standouts for me were Stephanie Styles (Katharine) and Angela Grovey (Medda). Their respective songs were the highlights of the show. The crowd was on fire and loved every minute as did I! For the most part the audio is amazing. At one point I had to check to see if it was still recording and I accidentally covered the mic, so somewhere in Act 2 there will be a garbled sound for about 20 seconds. Such a great listen! Note: Includes Crutchie’s new song that was added for the tour!

There will be 3 winners. Here’s what they will get:

1st: 3 audios of your choice

2nd: 2 audios of your choice

3rd: 1 audio of your choice

Here are my rules:

1. MUST be following me (I will check).

2. Only reblogs count.

3. Reblog as many times as you want, but don’t spam.

4. Have your Ask Box open!

I will randomly pick winners on January 1st, 2015. If you look on my blog you can listen to previews of some of the things I have listed. Some don’t have any previews up yet, but will soon. Thanks guys! Once (or if) I hit 500 followers, I will do a playbill give away maybe post a bootleg gift. Thanks for helping me reach 100 followers! 

List of Work I've Done for ANN

Was asked about this recently, and there’s not really an easy-to-find list of what all I’ve written about for ANN, but there is a lot of it, and I often get asked my opinion on things that I’ve already written thousands of words about on ANN too, so I made a comprehensive list.

Now some of these are very old. Some of them are not! So I guess just take note of the date in the byline for some of these if you want to shake your head at the poorer writing of my younger days. Anyway! I’m writing very frequently for the site now, so with any luck the new content will outweigh the old in no time at all. :) Here’s the list!

EDITORIALS
(These are fun multimedia pieces about a specific topic in anime fandom, some of my very favorite work I’ve done.The titles may be goofy sometimes, but I try to go in-depth on each topic.)

Three Reasons Why Blood Blockade Battlefront is the Best Show of the Spring

Why are Anime Fans Obsessed with Steven Universe?

Why I Can’t Stop Watching Prison School

Why Clannad Made You Cry

Why We Still Love Digimon

Ten Years of Death Note: Is Light the Bad Guy?

Why We Love Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney

Is Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress Just an Attack on Titan Clone?

Anime’s Fiercest Frenemies

Subaru Natsuki: The Best and Worst Thing About Re:Zero

What’s So Gay About Yuri!!! On Ice?

How Keijo Won the Gold in Fanservice


FULL REVIEWS

(These are full reviews of movies or series, usually on DVD or Blu-ray with details about that release itself included with story analysis.)

anohana: The Flower we Saw that Day (movie)

Attack on Titan (eps. 1-13)

Attack on Titan (eps. 14-25)

Attack on Titan English Dub Preview (eps. 1-5)

Attack on Titan (live-action film) Part I

Attack on Titan (live-action film) Part II

Bamboo Blade (eps. 13-26)

Barakamon

Black Butler (eps. 1-13)

Black Butler: Book of Circus and Book of Murder

Blood Blockade Battlefront

The Boy and the Beast

Case Closed Movie: Captured in Her Eyes

Castle in the Sky

Cowboy Bebop 

Corpse Princess (eps. 1-13)

Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc (video game)

Death Note ReLight 2

Devil May Cry 

Digimon Adventure tri.- Chapter 1: Reunion

Digimon Adventure tri.- Chapter 2: Determination

Digimon Adventure tri.- Chapter 3: Confession

Doukyusei -Classmates-

Durarara!! x 2 (eps. 1-6)

Durarara!! x 2 (eps. 7-12)

Expelled from Paradise

Fate/Zero

Fullmetal Alchemist 

Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood (eps. 1-13)

Future Diary 

Gatchaman Crowds

Gunslinger Girl

Gunslinger Girl: Il Teatrino 

Gunslinger Girl OVA

Hellsing Ultimate (OVAs 9-10)

Hetalia: Axis Powers (season one)

Hetalia: Beautiful World (season five)

Junjou Romantica (season one)

Kamisama Kiss

Kenichi the Mightiest Disciple (eps. 27-38)

Kill La Kill (eps. 1-4)

Kill La Kill (eps. 5-9)

Kill La Kill (eps. 10-14)

Kill La Kill (eps. 15-19)

Kill La Kill (eps. 20-25)

Lupin the 3rd: The Woman Called Fujiko Mine 

Madoka Magica the Movie III: Rebellion

Nabari no Ou (eps. 1-13)

Nabari no Ou (eps. 14-26)

One Piece (eps. 144-156)

Princess Nine

Psycho-Pass (season one)

Psycho-Pass the Movie

Robotics;Notes

Servant x Service

Silver Spoon (season one)

Soul Eater (eps. 1-13)

Soul Eater (eps. 27-39)

Tokyo Majin 

Trigun: Badlands Rumble

Wolf Children

Yurikuma Arashi


EPISODE-BY-EPISODE REVIEWS

(Comprehensive writeups of shows episode by episode. Next to editorials, I enjoy writing these weekly breakdowns the most!)

Berserk (2016)

Blood Blockade Battlefront

Chaos Dragon

Danganronpa 3: The End of Hope’s Peak High School: Future Arc

Danganronpa 3: The End of Hope’s Peak High School: Despair Arc

Durarara!!×2

Durarara!! ×2 The Second Arc

Durarara!! ×2 The Third Arc

Flip Flappers

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders Egypt Arc

Joker Game

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

Lord Marksman and Vanadis

Mushi Shi: The Next Chapter (2nd half)

One-Punch Man

Psycho-Pass 2

Rail Wars!

Tokyo Ghoul

Tokyo Ghoul √A

Utawarerumono: The False Faces


PREVIEW GUIDES

(These are first impressions of the premiere episode for every new anime that airs each season, right when they first come out. The writeup that’s labeled “Jacob (or Hope) Chapman” under any given show’s page is mine, but there are lots of writers with differing opinions right up against each other for each new show, which is what makes the guide fun!)

Winter 2014

Spring 2014

Summer 2014

Fall 2014

Winter 2015

Spring 2015

Summer 2015

Fall 2015

Winter 2016

Spring 2016

Summer 2016

Fall 2016


I’ll just bookmark this post, edit it whenever there’s something new to add, and link it or a specific review from it whenever I get that question again. Hopefully it’ll be more convenient that way. :’D So many wurds!

2

So I’m Kickstarting a collection of my tall ship sailing comics extravaganza Baggywrinkles right now, right? And it’s Day One and the campaign is doing really well. Like, FREAKISHLY WELL. Which means we should talk about Stretch Goals. Stretch Goals like doing THE WHOLE BOOK IN COLOR.

Yeah. That’s probably happening. I’m pretty much incoherent with joy.

Anyway, just wanted to share this preview image from colorists Joey Weiser and Michele Chidester. I really want to hire them to make this book beautiful. 

Lend a hand, won’t you?

8

Yuketen AW14 Pitti Preview

Mr. Yuki Matsuda’s label has now become a mandatory visit whenever I’m at Pitti. As a footwear aficionado, it’s hard not to drool when faced with Yuketen’s extensive collection, comprised of trademark designs that are constantly elevated to new levels, be it through subtle aesthetical tweaks or core construction techniques. 

Although some particular models may be somewhat over the top for my personal taste, the common denominator for all things Yuketen is superb quality and craftsmanship. Starting with skilled artisans who resort to traditional construction techniques, up to the high-end materials and attention to detail, every single item transpires authenticity and love for the product (this goes for both shoes and accessories). 

Some of my personal favourites included a beautiful derby shoe with ripple soles, available in supple leather and suede, along with an updated version of the Maine Guide Boot with silver Concho and hand-painted beads.

Ph: Beyond Fabric

So how is this season going to end for Oliver Queen? (3x23 speculation)

Sometimes inspiration strikes at the randomest moments.

I was texting my best friend about the 3x22 promo and how Ray was going to show up in Nanda Parbat. She commented that Felicity did warn Ra’s she would go to war with him, so of course she’d bring all the muscle she knows. I replied back with, “Yeah, she’s bringing Diggle, the Black Canary, the Dark Archer, the Atom, and Katana with her.”

And then I stopped, looked at the list of superheroes, and I had one of those scary, exciting lightbulb moments about how season three—how episode 3x23—is going to end.

It’s probably a crazy ass theory. I might be totally off base. The evidence that I’ve compiled could just be my brain enabling my craziness. But you know what? This is Tumblr, land of the crazy ass theories, so let me share it with y'all…under the cut.

Keep reading