Closest Ever Images of Pluto Reveal Mysterious Dots

There’s something odd going on along Pluto’s equator.

by Bec Crew

As NASA’s New Horizons spacecraft draws ever closer to our favourite icy dwarf planet, it’s taken what are now the closest ever images of Pluto’s distinctly beige surface. Thanks to these images, we can now see for the first time a series of very large and evenly spaced dark spots running along its equator.

The source of the spots isn’t clear, and the team at NASA are intrigued by how they came to be so consistently sized and spaced. NASA reports that each of them is 480 kilometres (300 miles) in diameter, which is about the size of the state of Missouri. “It’s a real puzzle - we don’t know what the spots are, and we can’t wait to find out,” New Horizons principal investigator Alan Stern said in a press release

(read more Science Alert)

images: NASA

Signs As Planets
  • Aries:-Mars- Represents willpower, the energy possessed by the ego that enables people to go after, gain, and accomplish what they want.
  • Taurus:-Venus- Known as the planet of love, affection, values and sensuality. The love and beauty of Venus have the power to both unite and heal.
  • Gemini:-Mercury- The modern associations of the planet bearing the same name include all forms of communications, such as writing implements, books, telephones, sign language, body language,facial expressions, and code,
  • Cancer:-Moon- The way in which the Moon seems to change size and shape, along with the moons effect on the constantly shifting ocean tides, resembles Cancer's ever-changing moods; however, the Moons changes are a lot more predictable.
  • Leo:-Sun- The Sun symbolizes us in the center of our personal "solar system" of friends, family, coworkers, and neighbors. The Sun gives life and light to our world. It symbolizes the ego.
  • Virgo:-Mercury- Mercury, the planet of mind and communication, rules the sign of Virgo, so those born under the sign are mentally quick, incisive, and sharp.
  • Libra:-Venus- The love and beauty that Venus represents have the power to both unite and heal, and a more desirable and powerful combination is difficult to imagine. Accomplishing goals by only attracting only whats wanted and rejects the rest.
  • Scorpio:-Pluto- Is the planet of power and transformation. It symbolizes the part of people that wants to get and use power of every kind. Associated with the mysteries of life, magic, sex, and the ultimate transformation, death.
  • Sagittarius:-Jupiter- Jupiter is the biggest planet in our solar system, rules expansion, growth, the big picture, thinking big, being jovial, and being fortunate. Jupiter rules plain luck, but also the fortune that is the result of expanding one's mind through learning and being open to new ideas.
  • Capricorn:-Saturn- Saturn is the planet of structure, time, boundaries, restriction, and discipline. It helps people delay pleasure so that they can do what needs to be done in the time allotted.
  • Aquarius:-Uranus- Uranus is the planet of eccentricity, genius, rebellion, revolution, and invention. It represents the forces in life that wants to keep things new, exciting, and on the edge.
  • Pisces:-Neptune- Neptune is the planet of transcendent beauty and inspiration. It rules theories about dimensions beyond this one, faith, and the belief in things that cannot be seen, the power of prayer, and the after life.
Observing the birth of a planet

Zurich, Switzerland (SPX) Jul 05, 2015
Observing time at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) on Paranal Mountain is a very precious commodity - and yet the Very Large Telescope (VLT) in Chile spent an entire night with a high-resolution infrared camera pointed at a single object in the night sky. The data collected by the Naco optics instrument enabled an international team headed by ETH Zurich’s Sascha Quanz to confirm its earli
Full article