Captain Janeway in Phage (part 2)

I don’t have the freedom to kill you to save another. My culture finds that to be a reprehensible and entirely unacceptable act.

@glumshoe I finally did my got dang homework and now I’m a got dang graduate

anonymous asked:

Is there a format like Commander but with multiple versions of the same characters? Between so many return blocks and the alternate versions of Phage, etc, seems like that should be a thing by now.

Oooooooooo!! I don’t know of any format that exists like that YET, but I like where you mind is going with this, Nonnie… 

OK, so I propose we call our new format: 

Quantum Commander 

(or “QC” for short) 

And it works something like this: 

  • Players still have a 100-card singleton deck (except for basic lands) 
  • Instead of one legendary creature for a commander, QC decks have up to two commanders, as long as both creatures flavorfully represent alternate versions of the same character 
  • QC decks may contain cards that match the color identity of the combined commanders 
  • Players may only have one of their commanders on the battlefield at a time (we don’t want any paradoxes, after all) 
  • If a player has one of their commanders on the battlefield, casting their other commander results in exiling the first, and sending it to the Command Zone (regardless of who controls the creature at the time) 
  • When a commander is in play, its owner may not cast any spells or play any lands in colors outside of that commander’s color identity 
  • A player can only win the game when one of their commanders is on the battlefield (though not necessarily under their control) 

OK, so let’s go through some QC Q&A. And for our examples here, we’re going to use these two handsome legendary creatures for our commanders: 

Q: What card colors can I have in this deck? 
A: Since Rhys the Exiled has a color identity of Green/Black, and Rhys the Redeemed has a color identity of Green/White, this deck can contain any spells or lands with green, black, or white mana symbols on them (as well as colorless or generic mana.) 

Q: Would I be able to play any Abzan colored cards like Doran the Siege Tower in this deck? 
A: You can put Doran in the deck, and you can play him while the deck is in “superposition” (when neither commander is on the battlefield) but as soon as either Rhys is played, you would not be able to cast Doran, since neither commander has all of Doran’s colors in their color identities. 

Q: What about a cool spell with a White/Black hybrid mana cost, like Unmake? 
A: Unmake can go in the deck, and you can play it while the deck is in “superposition,” but you would be unable to cast it while either commander is in play. 

Q: If I control a black creature, like Hunter of Eyeblights, does it go away when I cast Rhys the Redeemed? 
A: Nope, casting Rhys the Redeemed won’t make any of your black permanents go away. You just won’t be able to cast any black spells while he’s on the battlefield. 

Q: Can I play a Plains while Rhys the Exiled is on the battlefield? 
A: No, but you can still use any lands you already have in play (as long as you’re not using them to cast white spells.) 

Q: What happens if my opponent’s life total is 0 or they can’t draw a card, and I don’t have a commander in play? 
A: Since you can’t win in “superposition,” the game will continue (like if you had an Abysmal Persecutor under your control) until either you cast one of your commanders, or your opponent wins the game. If both you and your opponent have life totals of 0 or lower when you cast a commander, the game ends in a draw. (Note that this rule applies only when you have a single opponent. If you have multiple opponents, those opponents can still lose while your deck is in “superposition.” Once you have eliminated all but one opponent, this rule then takes effect.) 

Q: What’s with all the extra restrictions, dude? Why do you hate fun?! 
A: OK, first of all, that’s more than one question. Secondly, that’s kind of rude. And thirdly, I think that restrictions are important for keeping formats fun! (I mean, if you’re going to have the flexibility of TWO commanders, you’re going to need to give some stuff up.) 

Q: Could I make a case that Maralen of the Mornsong and Oona, Queen of the Fae are two versions of the same character? 
A: Ooo! I see you’ve read the Lorwyn books too! Hmm, I could see making a case for that, but it’s up to the discretion of your playgroup whether or not they accept that interpretation of the character. 

Q: How much longer are these questions and answers going to go on? 
A: I think this is a good place to end them for now (at least until other people chime in with questions of their own.) 

So what do you all think?! Fun format? Inherently broken? Something worth trying out? Let me know your thoughts/suggestions! 


We have some new pages and news about Venom Vol. 3 from C2E2!

•Venom will be a “dysfunctional love story” about two beings deeply connected but bad for each other.
•The new run of Venom will be about the symbiote as much as, if not more than, who’s wearing it. And that person will be Eddie Brock.
•Issue six will not be the last we see of Flash Thompson.

Thanks to TattoodComicGuy for the pictures and updates!