Apolinario M. Mabini
July 23, 1864 - May 13, 1903
Phillippine Revolutionary Leader, Educator, Lawyer and Statesman
First Prime Minister of the Philippines of the first Philippine Republic

The foundation of this town was a result of the labors and preaching of Father Friar Andres del Espiritu Santo who initiated the construction of a church under the patronage of the Holy Name of Jesus. Although the exact date is not clear, history points that a large settlement called “Coventa” started to exist in the area as early as 1610. The town was near the mountains but gets flooded during the season of rains.

In the early part of the 18th century, Mabini was a part of the Zambales Provinceand was known in the name of “Balincaguin,” derived from Zambal words “Bali lan caguin” meaning “Abode of Bats” because if the tremendous species of the winged creatures that inhabited the numerous caves of the town sprawling under the hills and mountain ranges especially in the dark and gloomy portions that made it a natural habitat for them.

In early 1800, the exact date of which could not be ascertained, a town leader Don Isidro Puzon founded the town with a population of 770 families. With the town divested of records when the Spaniards left, the Parochial Church (now Sto. Niño Parish) which was built in the 1930s by Spanish friars or Augustinian Recolletos is the only existing evidence that points to the presence of a large settlement in the area. The revolution that broke in fourteen towns including Balincaguin on March 7, 1898 led to the death of the Recolletos Parish Priest who sided with the calzadores and civiles.

After the Declaration of Independence on June 12, 1898 a great surge of nationalism swept the country and the people of the place saw the spirit of idealism and patriotic character of General Aguinaldo’s Chief Adviser, Apolinario Mabini so the inhabitants initiated petitions to change the name of the town. On November 21, 1903, Balincaguin, together with six other towns of Zambales was merged to Pangasinan Province by USPC Act No. 1004. And effective November 23, 1929, the name “Balincaguin” was changed to “Mabini” in honor of Apolinario Mabini, the “Sublime Paralytic” and the “Brain of Katipunan” by virtue of Act No. 3552, 8th PL, 2nd Regular Session.

Today, Mabini is the second largest municipality in Pangasinan in terms of land area covering a total land area of 29,100 hectares and home of more than 25,000 God-fearing, peace-loving and business friendly individuals.

Fun fact: The locals leave fresh flowers on his bust regularly.

Photo taken on July 24, 2016.
Caption taken from the plaque on the bust.
Click on the photos to see the full image.