VON HAZE “Mother Mountain” from Kar Dee Akk Ake LP


Video: Chelsea Wolfe - Halfsleeper

  • Moses
  • Chelsea Wolfe
  • Ἀποκάλυψις

External image

Chelsea Wolfe is a singer/songwriter from Los Angeles, CA. Recently Chelsea released her sophomore album, Ἀποκάλυψις (Apocalypse in Greek), via Pendu Sound Records. On the new album Wolfe delves deeper into the themes of societal degradation and the connection of all things, present on her debut, The Grime and The Glow, but instead of being an exercise in lo-fi bedroom gloom Ἀποκάλυψις is a focused slab of psych-folk-doom that will give you chills (and possibly nightmares). I am absolutely in love with Ἀποκάλυψις, as shown in the 300+ listens I racked up on my page. I really don’t know if I’ll find a better album this year, and at this point I’ve basically stopped looking. For my money Ἀποκάλυψις is perfect. Give it a spin and join the cult.

Recommended if you like: White Horse, EMA, Nick Cave, or Selda Bagcan


I’m so into White Ring right now. They just released this witchy new mixtape of remixes and shit on Pendu Sound Recordings. It’s both awesome and free and available here. Via Witch Tapes.

01 Waka Flocka Flame - No Talkin (White Ring 2011 Banger Remix)
02 Feather (Story of Isaac Remix)
03 Nine Inch Nails - Me I’m Not (White Ring Remix)
04 Felt U (GHXST Killer Rmx)
05 Feel U (Shams Feelings Mix)
06 Lil B x Cocteau Twins - Real Life (White Ring Remix)
07 Rick Ross - BMF (White Ring - One Nation Under God Remix)
08 Feather (Fostercare Rmx)
09 So Wuts Drippin (Trance)
10 Rihanna - What’s My Name (White Ring Baby Dolphins Uplifting Trance Remix)


Chelsea Wolfe at 120 Minutes.

If you’re into Supreme, pentagrams, hip-hop, and goth culture. 120 Minutes is this city’s ground zero for the new crossover sound that’s got a hundred names: witch house, drag, grave wave, rape gaze, and based-goth. Love it or hate it, it’s a force in popular culture that cannot be denied. Now, on their first anniversary, 120 Minutes is doing it big by bringing up L.A.-artist Chelsea Wolfe, whose music they describe as “…raw, dirging doom-folk with hints of black metal, deep blues, and minimal synthesizer music.” This one’s gonna be too freaky to miss.