paulistão 2012

“If you love me
Don’t let go
If you love me
Don’t let go

Hold on
Hold on to me
‘Cause I’m a little unsteady
A little unsteady”
— Unsteady by Ambassador X

CHL Playoffs

There are a number of people who are, I think, interested in writing about or at least talking about Mikey and Nater and the Steelheads. As there seems to be some confusion about how to win the Memorial Cup, I’m going to outline it.

The Ontario Hockey League (OHL) is split into an Eastern and Western Conference, which are further split into East/Central and Midwest/West Divisions. Four teams from each division make it to the playoffs. They are seeded the same way as the Stanley Cup Playoffs, with the 1st team in each division playing the 4th team, and the 2nd and 3rd team playing each other. Unlike the SCP, after the first round, teams are re-seeded so that the best team in each conference is playing the worst team left in that conference. The winners of each conference meet in the OHL Championship. The winner wins the J. Ross Robertson Cup as OHL champions.

The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) has three divisions of six teams each. The top 16 teams make it regardless of division, and their opponents in the playoffs are determined solely by overall points. So Team 1 plays Team 16, Team 2 plays Team 15, etc. There is no re-seeding once teams make it to the playoffs. The final is called the President’s Cup Championship, where the winner wins the President’s Cup as QMJHL champions.

The Western Hockey League (WHL) has an Eastern and Western Conference, which are split into Eastern/Central and B.C./U.S. Divisions. They have the same playoff system as the NHL, with three teams at the top of each division + two wild cards from each conference making it to the playoffs. Conference champions meet in the WHL Championship, where the winner wins the Ed Chynoweth Cup as WHL champions.

AFTER ALL THAT, the champions of each league meet along with one host team from any of the three leagues in the Memorial Cup tournament. The host team this year is the Windsor Spitfires of the OHL. The Mem Cup is a round-robin tournament. Each of the four teams plays each other in the six round-robin games. The team with the most wins goes directly to the championship game. The second and third place teams play in the semi-final for the remaining slot in the championship game. The winner of the championship game wins the Memorial Cup as CHL champions.