oloris

“The Lady of the Golden Wood.” Laura Michelle Kelly as Galadriel in The Lord of the Rings on stage (London production). Photo by Simon Turle, featured in Silver Leaves issue #3, accompanying Constance G.J. Wagner’s article, “Arresting Strangeness: Fantasy Fulfilled in The Lord of the Rings On Stage.”

20 Black celebrity stylists you should know

In no particular oder, besides how I remembered their handles.
Add to the list, if you can.

  1. Edward Enniful (@edward_enniful)
  2. Anthony Williams (@theanthonylwilliams)
  3. Atiba (@atibanewsome)
  4. Alexander Allen (he wanna be rude and not have an IG)
  5. Ty Hunter (@tytryone)
  6. June Ambrose (@juneambrose)
  7. Olori Swank (@OloriSWANK)
  8. Ugo mozie (@ugomozie)
  9. Susan Moses (@susanmosesnyc)
  10. Lloyd Boston (@lloydboston)
  11. Eric Archibald (@ericarchibald)
  12. Tiffany Hasbourne @tiffthestylist)
  13. Jason Rembert (@jasonrembert)
  14. Lysa Cooper (@lysacooper)
  15. Beagy Zielinski (@beagystyle)
  16. Rachel Johnson (@thomasfaison)
  17. Becca Alexis (@beccalexis)
  18. Misa Hylton-Brim (@misahylton)
  19. Jason Bolden (@jasonbolden)
  20. Khalilah Williams-Webb (@kwebimageinc)

Honorable mention: 
Emily B. (@emilyb_)
Shun Melson (@ShunMelson)*
Tanevery Smith (@TanOTB)*
OPE (@opethestylist) [Not a celebrity stylist but she’s cool]

Incandescence Transcendent

The first ever fairytale anthology by Oloris Publication is available at their online bookstore,in e-book format for the time being!

I’m very excited,since it features some of my work,as well!!!:)

Check it out here:
http://olorisbookshop.com/collections/ebooks/products/incandescence-transcendent

You can use the code FAIRYLORE on checkout to gain 15% off its original price!:)

2

The upcoming release of the long-awaited Anglo-Saxon Community in J.R.R. Tolkien’s ‘The Lord of the Rings’ by Dr. Deborah A. Higgens coincides with the Fellowship’s journey into Rohan in this month’s readings for the Tolkien Read-Along 2014. In celebration of both the Read-Along and the book’s release, Oloris Publishing has excerpted a section from Chapter 4 “The Role of the Lord, Comitatus, and Gift-Giving within the Mead Hall” in the upcoming title. Here, Dr. Higgens examines the Germanic tradition of the comitatus oath. In this excerpt, she draws parallels between the characters, events, and cultures within The Lord of the Rings and Beowulf, cementing the importance of the Anglo-Saxon epic in the creation of Tolkien’s masterpiece. 

For the excerpt and the complete media release, read below.

Keep reading

Dejé de hablar de ti

Dejé de hablar con la gente
me tragué en mis palabras tus manías
y dejé de vomitarle al mundo
mis ganas de verte.

Cuando respiro procuro no exhalar tu olor
y me aguanto las basuritas en los ojos.

No me malentiendas,
todavía me cuelgas por todos lados.
me pesas en cada hebra de estambre
y en cada postit viejo que se cansó
de estar pegado en una pared.

Pero sucede que la gente, sin saber,
me habla de ti como piraña de estanque
y a veces como soy torpe con las palabras
no sé como defenderte.

¡Me dicen que te olvide!
“A lo que sigue, hermano”, “Mucho mejores hay”
como si no supieran que algunas cosas
las que de verdad importan, nunca se olvidan.

No se olvida la técnica occidental
para chapotear en un charco de agua
y no olvidas el orgasmo auditivo
que produce el descorche de una botella
uno no olvida como se revienta una burbuja
ni el aroma a tierra mojada cuando va a llover

A veces se me va la onda
y se me pasa pedir un deseo
cuando veo una estrella fugaz
pero eso es ofuscación, no es olvido.

Dejé de hablarle a la gente sobre ti
dejé de transpirarles mi nostalgia
y dejé de besuquearte el nombre de lejitos
porque te quiero aquí cerquita
y para que nadie nunca
me intente convencer de lo contrario.

“Galadriel at the Cracks of Doom.” Laura Michelle Kelly in The Lord of the Rings on stage (London production). Photo by Manuel Harlan, featured in Silver Leaves issue #3, accompanying Constance G.J. Wagner’s article, “Arresting Strangeness: Fantasy Fulfilled in The Lord of the Rings On Stage.”