odeon of herodes


Here’s some other photos from today’s acropolis wanderings!
1. Altar of Dionysos near the various incarnations of the temples to Dionysos Eleuthereus.
2. Theatre of Dionysos where the City Dionysia competitions were held.
3. Erecteion.
4. Parthenon.
5. View of Athens from the acropolis.
6. Odeon of Herodes Atticus.

The Odeon of Herodes Atticus (Herodion) in Athens of  1865. Photo by Dimitris Constantinou.

Το Ωδείο Ηρώδου του Αττικού (Ηρώδειο) στην Αθήνα του 1865. Φωτογραφία του Δημήτρη Κωνσταντίνου.

The famous Odeon of Herodes Atticus dominates the western end on the south slope of the Acropolis. It was the third Odeon constructed in ancient Athens after the Pericles Odeon on the south slope (fifth century) and the Agrippa’s Odeon in the ancient Agora (15 BC). The construction of the monument during the second century AD was sponsored by Tiberius Claudius Herod Atticus, renowned offspring of an important Athenian family and a benefactor; he thus acted in remembrance of his wife Regilla, who died in 160 AD. The exact date of construction is unknown, but it was certainly built sometime after Regilla’s death and 174 AD, when the traveller and geographer Pausanias visited Athens and referred to the monument in great admiration.

Το περίφημο Ωδείο του Ηρώδη του Αττικού δεσπόζει στο δυτικό άκρο της Νότιας Κλιτύος της Ακρόπολης. Ήταν το τρίτο, που κατασκευάσθηκε στην αρχαία Αθήνα, μετά το ωδείο του Περικλή, επίσης στη Νότια Κλιτύ (5ος αι. π.Χ.) και το ωδείο του Αγρίππα στην Αρχαία Αγορά (15 π.Χ.). Οικοδομήθηκε κατά τη διάρκεια του 2ου αι. μ.Χ., με χρήματα που προσέφερε ο Τιβέριος Κλαύδιος Ηρώδης ο Αττικός, γνωστός γόνος μεγάλης αθηναϊκής οικογένειας και ευεργέτης, σε ανάμνηση της συζύγου του Ρήγιλλας, που πέθανε το 160 μ.Χ. Δεν είναι γνωστή η ακριβής χρονολογία της κατασκευής του, αλλά είναι σίγουρο ότι αυτό συνέβη ανάμεσα στην χρονολογία θανάτου της Ρήγιλλας και το 174 μ.Χ., χρονολογία της επίσκεψης στην Αθήνα του περιηγητή Παυσανία, ο οποίος αναφέρεται στο μνημείο με ιδιαίτερο θαυμασμό.