This once powerful abbey was oft featured in the medieval ballads of Robin Hood (his arch-enemy a ‘ryche abbot here besyde Of Seynt Mari Abbey‘). Originally built around 1055 by William the Conqueror, it was re-founded in 1088 as a Benedictine monastery. Destroyed by Henry VIII in 1540. The ruins sit in the courtyard of the modern Yorkshire Museum, in the shadows of the prominent York Minster Cathedral.
the city wall (gatehouse/bar) was constructed in the 12th century and updated in the 14th century. it was once the traditional ceremonial gate for monarchs entering the city. its name comes from the old norse mykla gata, meaning ‘great street’.