natural axis

The Axes of Astrology

Within Astrology there are 6 sets of signs and houses. The 12 signs are paired off in opposition representing dual sides of a certain concept or notion, in turn the houses associated with these signs can be similarly grouped. The cusps of these houses are known as axes within a chart, each one representing a different integral part of a personality or one’s nature.

The first axis – The Axis of Identity

               This axis is the axis of the 1st and 7th houses, also known as the ascendant and descendant. It is associated with the signs of Aries♈ and Libra♎, and is the place where we define who we are, both as individuals and as members of society.

The second axis – The Axis of Possession

The axis of the 2nd and 8th houses. It is associated with the signs of Taurus♉ and Scorpio♏, and is where we try to find value within ourselves and our relationships with others.

The third axis – The Axis of Information

               The 3rd//9th house axis is associated with Gemini♊ and Sagittarius♐. This axis shows us how we both gather and disseminate information, of both a mundane and higher nature.

The fourth axis – The Axis of Security

The cusps of the 4th and 10th houses are known by a few names, such as the Nadir//Imum Coeli and Midheaven//Medium Coeli, but regardless these houses are associated with the signs of Cancer♋ and Capricorn♑ . The axis of security shows us how we build the foundations of safety and security for ourselves, both privately and publicly.

The fifth axis – The Axis of Ego

               The cusps of the 5th and 11th house make up this axis, and it is associated with Leo♌ and Aquarius♒. It is here that we express ourselves both individually and in group settings, and it is also here that we give and receive love from the world.

The sixth axis – The Axis of Service

               The 6th and 12th houses make up the Axis of Service, being associated with the signs of Virgo♍ and Pisces♓ respectively. Here is where we give service to others. It is the place in which we sacrifice for others, giving to them both materially and spiritually in order to heal the ailments of the body and soul.