thereisonlypassion  asked:

Kind of a complicated question here. Say I play a Dragonshift, targeting my Nivix Cyclops. Does it become a 4/4 blue/red flying dragon or a 7/4 blue/red flying dragon? Because, as I've understood, the +3/+0 happens BEFORE it "becomes a 4/4", meaning it would be overwritten by the effects of the spell that triggered it. Secondary question, say I cast Dragonshift and it's countered. Does the Cylops' effect still trigger? I don't think it does, but my friends tell me I'm incorrect.

So there are a few things going on here. Some of it involves the layer system, so I recommend getting familiar with MTG Tutorials #27 (Part One): What is the Layer System? before we go any further.

Ready? Okay.

Here’s what happens when you cast Dragonshift:

  1. Dragonshift goes on the stack.
  2. Because you cast an instant or sorcery spell, Nivix Cyclops’ ability triggers. The triggered ability goes on the stack ahead of Dragonshift. (Objects on the stack always resolve in First In, Last Out order.)
  3. Assuming nobody has any responses, the Cyclops trigger will resolve. At this point, the Cyclops looks like this:

    LAYER 1:
    LAYER 2:
    LAYER 3:
    LAYER 4:
    LAYER 5:
    LAYER 6:
    LAYER 7a:
    LAYER 7b:
    LAYER 7c: Gets +3/+0 until end of turn.
    LAYER 7d:
    LAYER 7e:

  4. Assuming nobody has any responses, Dragonshift resolves next. After it does, the Cyclops looks like this:

    LAYER 1:
    LAYER 2:
    LAYER 3:
    LAYER 4: Becomes a Dragon until end of turn. (Replaces its other types.)
    LAYER 5: Becomes red and blue until end of turn. (It already was.)
    LAYER 6: Loses all abilities until end of turn. Then gains flying until end of turn.
    LAYER 7a:
    LAYER 7b: Becomes 4/4 until end of turn.
    LAYER 7c: Gets +3/+0 until end of turn.
    LAYER 7d:
    LAYER 7e:

When everything is over and we’ve applied the layers in order, the Cyclops will be a 7/4 red and blue Dragon with flying and no other abilities.

advocat  asked:

Say I have a Mirrorworks out, and I cast Sharuum the Hegemon and copy it, can I send the actual Sharuum to the graveyard and then recur it with the Mirrorworks token?

There are a lot of triggers involved here, but the short answer is yes.

By the time the second Sharuum’s enters-the-battlefield ability triggers and is put onto the stack, the original Sharuum will already be in its owner’s graveyard thanks to the Legend Rule. The same thing of course happens again and again: each time Sharuum returns to the battlefield, the Legend Rule makes it die all over again, just in time to be a legal target for the newest instance of the enters-the-battlefield trigger.

This also works with anything else that can copy Sharuum, such as Phyrexian Metamorph or Sculpting Steel (or an actual second Sharuum). Combine with Disciple of the Vault or Summoning Station for maximum hilarity.

akosikvmi  asked:

Is there any way to get rid of emblems?

Nope. Once an emblem is created, it persists for the rest of the game.


anerdtumblr said: 

Karn can restart the game removing the emblems :v

Yes, okay. Karn restarts the game in its entirety, so I suppose you can consider him a way to get of emblems. He also resets players’ poison counters, life totals and commander damage.

A better way to think of this is that Karn is restarting the game. That game where you had an emblem is over now.

suicidelemon  asked:

Hi So I recently started playing bloom titan. But I want to know something, does affect to the game having more than 1 amulet in play, and if it affect the game, how? Can I get 4 mana with a single land card that gives me 2 mana? Sorry for bad englis

I assume you’re talking about Amulet of Vigor. (I’m not super familiar with the Bloom Titan archetype as I don’t follow Modern all that closely, but here’s the archetype page where I found the Amulet.)

To answer your question, yes, multiple amulets do have an impact on the game. Amulet of Vigor’s ability is a triggered ability, which you can tell because it’s written in the form,

When/Whenever/At <EVENT>, <EFFECT>.

Triggered abilities use the stack, and players get to respond before they resolve. Each time a land (or other permanent) enters the battlefield tapped under your control, all of your Amulets will trigger, and that many instances of the triggered ability will be put onto the stack. You then get the opportunity to respond before each one resolves, tapping the same lands for mana again and again before each trigger untaps them.

Here’s an example of how this plays out. Let’s say you have three Amulets of Vigor in play.

  1. You play a land that enters the battlefield tapped, such as Jungle Shrine.
  2. All three of your Amulets trigger, and three instances of their triggered ability go onto the stack. We’ll call these Trigger 1, Trigger 2 and Trigger 3. (The order doesn’t matter. All of the triggers do the same thing: untap Jungle Shrine.)
  3. Trigger 1 resolves. Jungle Shrine becomes untapped.
  4. In response to Trigger 2, you tap Jungle Shrine for one mana. You now have one mana in your mana pool.
  5. Trigger 2 resolves. Jungle Shrine becomes untapped.
  6. In response to Trigger 3, you tap Jungle Shrine for one mana. You now have two mana in your mana pool.
  7. Trigger 3 resolves. Jungle Shrine becomes untapped.
  8. After all the triggers resolve, you tap Jungle Shrine one more time. You now have three mana in your mana pool.

Hope this makes sense! For more info on triggered abilities and/or the stack in general, you should check out these tutorials:

As always, you can also find these and many other tutorials in our Table of Contents.