morgaine le fay


It’s taken me since September to realize this BUT…

Morgause, Igraine, and Vivianne represent the three stages of womanhood, as well as each part of the Triple Goddess.

Morgause is the Maiden, the left-facing crescent. At the beginning, unmarried, young, and beautiful.

Igraine is the Mother, the full circle. Mother to Morgaine, married to Gorlois and then to Uther.

Vivianne is the Crone, the right-facing crescent. The eldest and wisest of the Three Sisters.



“ And so, perhaps, the truth winds somewhere between the road to Glastonbury, Isle of the Priests, and the road to Avalon, lost forever in the mists of the Summer Sea. But this is my truth, I who am Morgaine tell you these things, Morgaine who was in later days called Morgan le Fay ”


No-one knows the real story of the great King Arthur of Camelot. Most of what you think you know about Camelot, Gwenhwyfar, Lancelot and the evil sorceress known as Morgaine le Fay, is nothing but lies. I should know, for I am Morgaine le Fay, priestess of the Isle of Avalon, where the ancient religion of the Mother Goddess was born.

requested by @mylovelylittleobsessions


The Ladies Have Landed: an endless list of beautifully complex women
↳ Morgaine from The Mists of Avalon

Your motives may be nobler than hers, but you still move us around like pieces on a game board. What has my mother given up for your Avalon? My father died at Uther’s hands because of you. My poor innocent brother Arthur, who was a baby on my lap, and loved me as no other! And I loved him! Look what you’ve done to us. You’ve twisted our love, and turned it into shame, all for the sake of Avalon! No! I will not kill the child within me, but I will not let you take him to Avalon! I will not let you twist and bend him to your will! (…) He will never set foot in Avalon, Viviane! He will not be one of your pawns, and nor will I!



“Morgan Le Fay’s first appearence is in Geoffrey of Monmouth’s Vita Merlini where she is introduced as the most beautiful of nine sisters, a kind and magically talented being who can change her shape. After the battle of Camlann, Arthur voyages to Morgan’s residence on the Isle of Avalon to be healed of his wounds by her special arts. In Chrétien de Troyes and elsewhere, it is suggested that Morgaan is Arthur’s sister. (…) It is thus an ancient and withered Morgan who controls events in the 14th century English poem Sir Gawain and the Green Knight ” - Thelma S. Fenster


  1. The Vita Merlini – Geoffrey of Monmouth
  2. Romans de la Table Ronde – Chrétien de Troyes              
  3. Le Mort D’Arthur – sir Thomas Malory
  4. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight – Pearl Poet

Morgan in Modern Literature

  1. The Whispering Knights (1971) – Penelope Lively
  2. Excalibur! (1980) – Gil Kane and John Jakes
  3. The Mists of Avalon (1982) – Marion Zimmer Bradley
  4. The High King (1987) – Joy Chant
  5. The Third Magic (1998) Welwyn Winton Katz
  6. The Road to Avalon (1988) – Joan Wolf
  7. Daughter of Tintagel  (1992)– Fay simpson

            Book 1 : Wise Woman’s Telling
            Book 2: White Nun’s Telling
            Book 3: Black Smith’s Telling
            Book 4: Taliesin’s Telling
            Book 5: Herself: Daughter of Tintagel

     8. I, Morgain  (1995) –Harry Robin
     9. I am Morgan Le Fay (2002) – Nancy Springer
    10. Twilight of Avalon (2009) - Anna Elliott
    11. The Circle Cast: The Lost Years of Morgan Le fay (2011) –Alex Epstein
    12. Morgen of Avalon - Carol J Weakland

            Book 1: Dremspell
            Book 2: Child of Destiny

     13. Tintagel (2014) – Adele Jones
     14. Le Fay series (2014) – Realm Lovejoy

            Book 1: Henge
            Book 2: Sword
            Book 3: Grail  
            Book 4: Spear   

     15. King Arthur’s Sister in Washington’s Court - Kim Headlee
     16. Morgan (2015) – Deborah C. Foulkes 
     17. Camelot Lost  – Jessica Bonito 
     18. Morgana – Michel Rio 
     19. Idylls of the Queen – Phyllis Ann Karr
     20. Morgana Trilogy –  Alessa Ellefson

            Book 1: Blood of the Fay (2013)
            Book 2: Rise of the Fay (2015)
            Book 3: (to be released) 


  1. Celtic Myth and Arthurian Romance (1927) – Roger Sherman
  2. Loomis Arthuriam Women (1996) – Thelma S. Fenster (ed.)
  3. Arthurian and Courtly Cultures: Morgan le Fay, Shapeshifter (2013) – Jill M. Hebert 
  4. The Myth of Morgan le Fay (2014) – Kristina Pérez 

MORGAN LE FAY ALPHABET - Cornwall/Tintagel

“ Cornwall, (…) my whole soul longed for the country of my childhood, the long arms of rock stretching into the dark sea,the deep and shadowed valleys lying between slate cliffs, the beloved andhalf-forgotten shoreline of Tintagel” - The Mists of Avalon .

“Then there was Tintagel – a little closer to theedge – and then the island – and then the rest of the world” - Tintagel (2014)

“‘You know my sister, the lady Morgaine, Duchess of Cornwall, priestess of Avalon,’ said Arthur.” - The Mists of Avalon 

“I was born on a small rocky island (not far from shore) witha castle on it that was called Tintagel. It was a square fortress, and thestones were almost black because they were old and there had been fires in the past. In some of the rooms the wood had not been replaced, and was charred and fell off easily, and people used it to write on the walls, so it was very common that someone would lean on a wall and everyone would know from the black dust on their clothing.” – Tintagel (2014)

“Tintagel, a place of quiet and peace- I, Morgain

“My mother’s son – my brother — would be king of all England , and what would that make me? Would I have to leave Tintagel? I suddenly felt wretchedly jealous for the castle, and ran my finger along the floor, trying to assure it that I wouldn’t leave it, not if I could help it.” - Tintagel (2014)

“Cornwall seemed more than ever at the very end of the world” – The Mists of Avalon


Morgan le Fay- Hekate