New York: Looking east on Monroe Street from Scammel Street. The bridge at the end of the street is the Williamsburg, completed in 1903. Monroe Street was paved early in the 1900’s and this picture may have been taken about 1907. At the time of this picture, Monroe Street started at Catherine Street and took a northeasterly direction to the Corlears Hook neighborhood, merging with Grand Street at the East River. Corlear’s Hook was once part of a farm first owned by Jacob Van Corlear in 1639, and believed to be the hiding place of vast riches, the loot of both Blackbeard and Kidd but it was prospected for generations without success. Today little remains of Monroe and not a building in this picture is still standing.