Master post of my hand painted MTG card alters.
Suppose my opponent casts Mind Grind declaring X to be 4, and I counter it with Mystic Genesis. Is the declared X taken into account when calculating the ooze's power/toughness, making it a 6/6 instead of a 2/2? If I control a Guile at the time, and I exile the Mind Grind, can I cast it for free? Normally X would be zero, since I'm casting it for free, but Mind Grind says that X can't be zero. Will it be countered by its own rules text? If so, can I cast it and let it be countered indefinitely?