MAN i remember being like 8 years old and SO JEALOUS of all the tiger zodiac folks who get to have MY FAVORITE DIGIMON (at the time, this was before the glorious X-scarred pec-package bancholeomon) as their zodiac and i’m stuck with yum yum sparky electricity sinduramon here

granted–mihiramon had like, one line, then got blasted to smithereens so small an atom would blush, and he’s never used in anything ever, but. its a goddamn purple striped tiger with wings and a bandanna. i used to never be seen without a bandanna!

i leveled up in douchebaggery and now i’m never seen without a beanie. please do not show me any beanie digimon. i do not need that kind of empowerment.

Cosmogony of the Digital World

Hey Digimon fans. I had the idea for this post: basically, this covers the cosmogony of the Digital World and the various powers that hold power in it. For the record, this only covers the mythology of the Digital World as covered in Bandai’s Digimon profiles; all of the various Digimon series deal with this differently and have their own backstory for the Digital World and its various hierarchy.

So, with that in mind, let’s begin:

Keep reading

Mythology in Digimon: Four Holy Beasts

Qinglongmon, Azure Dragon of the East

Qinglongmon, dubbed Azulongmon, is one of the Four Holy Beasts who protect the Digital World, it guards the East and releases intense lightning strikes. Like the other Four Holy Beast Digimon it is a legendary being, whose strength is said to equal that of a god. Also, it is counted as one of the Four Great Dragons alongside Magnadramon, Goldramon, and Megidramon, and is the most deified existence among them. However, although it is a divine being, it will not easily cooperate with humans and the weak, and it is not likely to lend help to its allies unless there is something serious. It represents the element Wood and the season Spring.

As one of the Four Holy Beasts it commands 3 of the 12 Deva:

  • Mihiramon
  • Antylamon
  • Majiramon


Azure Dragon, also known as Bluegreen Dragon, Green Dragon, or Blue Dragon, is one of the Dragon Gods who represent the mount or chthonic forces of the Five Forms of the Highest Deity. He is also one of the Four Symbols of the Chinese constellations, which are the astral representations of the Wufang Shangdi.

In Japan, the Bluegreen Dragon, known as Seiryu, is one of the four guardian spirits of cities and is said to protect the city of Kyoto on the east. The west is protected by the White Tiger, the north is protected by the Black Tortoise, the south is protected by the Vermilion Bird, and the center is protected by the Yellow Dragon.