mclaren win


The 1968 McLaren M7A. The car that the team famously got its first Grand Prix victory with, thanks to our founder, Bruce McLaren. 11 races, 3 wins.

McLaren Formula 1 - Bruce McLaren

Winners’ circle:

Gerhard Berger wins over Ayrton Senna by just 0.334 seconds at the Japanese Grand Prix in 1991. Mr. Senna let Mr. Berger pass by to win his first win for McLaren. Ayrton Senna won his third Formula 1 World Championship.


McLaren wins by country: Top 10 nations

1st - Great Britain 54 wins: Lewis Hamilton (21); David Coulthard (12); James Hunt (9); Jenson Button (8); John Watson (4)

2nd - Brazil 40 wins: Ayrton Senna (35); Emerson Fittipaldi (5)

3rd - Finland 30 wins: Mika Hakkinen (20); Kimi Raikkonen (9); Heikki Kovalainen (1)

4th - France 30 wins: Alain Prost (30)

5th - Austria 11 wins: Niki Lauda (8); Gerhard Berger (3)

6th - New Zealand 7 wins: Denny Hulme (6); Bruce McLaren (1)

7th - Spain 4 wins: Fernando Alonso (4)

8th - Colombia 3 wins: Juan Pablo Montoya (3)

9th - USA 2 wins: Peter Revson (2)

10th - Germany 1 win: Jochen Mass (1)


Yet another highlight from the 73rd Members’ Meeting was the 20th anniversary celebrations of McLaren’s Le Mans win. Back in 1995, a handful of F1 GTRs were entered into the epic race, winning it outright (and taking 3rd, 4th and 5th) on the first attempt - an incredible feat given the minimal changes made from the road cars - they even used the stock gearbox. Out of a total 28 GTRs produced, an incredible 16 were present at this event, screaming and howling at high speed around the circuit.


Hungarian GP 2008 + Felipe Massa → requested by anonymous

“The two championship rivals began a battle for the lead that was resolved when Hamilton sustained a punctured tyre just over halfway through the race, giving Massa a lead of more than 20 seconds over Kovalainen. The Ferrari’s engine, however, failed with three laps remaining, allowing the McLaren driver to win”